top of page
Top of Blog
wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Fabled Earth

ISBN: 9781400234226

Publisher: Harper Muse

HarperCollins Focus

Publication Date: 10/01/2024

Format: Other

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


COVER REVEAL


Inspired by the little-known history of Cumberland Island, The Fabled Earthis a sweeping story of family lore and the power of finding your own voice as Southern mythology and personal reckoning collide with a changing world.


1932. Cumberland Island off the coast of Southern Georgia is a strange place to encounter the opulence of the Gilded Age, but the last vestiges of the famed philanthropic Carnegie family still take up brief seasonal residence in their grand mansions there. This year's party at Plum Orchard is a lively group: young men from some of America's finest families come to experience the area's hunting beside a local guide; a beautiful debutante expecting to be engaged by the week's end, and a promising female artist who believes she has meaningful ties to her wealthy hosts. But when temptations arise and passions flare, an evening of revelry and storytelling goes horribly awry. Lives are both lost and ruined.


1959. Reclusive painter Cleo Woodbine has lived alone for decades on Kingdom Come, a tiny strip of land once occupied by the servants for the great houses on nearby Cumberland. When she is visited by the man who saved her life nearly thirty years earlier, a tempest is unleashed as the stories of the past gather and begin to regain their strength. Frances Flood is a folklorist come to Cumberland Island seeking the source of a legend - and also information about her mother, who was among the guests at a long-ago hunting party. Audrey Howell, briefly a newlywed and now newly widowed, is running a local inn. When she develops an eerie double exposure photograph, some believe she's raised a ghost--someone who hasn't been seen since that fateful night in 1932.


As a once-in-a-century storm threatens the natural landscape and shifting tides reveal what Cumberland Island has hidden all along, two timelines and the perspectives of three women intersect to illuminate the life-changing power of finding truth in a folktale.


The Fabled Earth:

  • Is great for book clubs with its included discussion questions

  • Makes a great gift for readers of Alice Hoffman, Kate Morton, and Sarah Addison Allen

  • Features a gentle thread of no spice, clean romance








About the Author



Kimberly Brock is the bestselling author of The Lost Book of Eleanor Dare, which was shortlisted for the prestigious Townsend Prize for Fiction, and The River Witch, recipient of the Georgia Author of the Year Award. She is the founder of Tinderbox Writers Workshop and has served as a guest lecturer for many regional and national writing workshops including at the Pat Conroy Literary Center.


A native of North Georgia, she now lives near Atlanta. WEBSITE


Photo credit: Claire Brock Photography










Exceptional Authors. Standout Books. Elevator Talk.


Behind the Book & the Author

INTRIGUING QUESTIONS. INQUIRING READERS WANT TO KNOW.



Coming October

Interview with, bestselling Author

Kimberly Brock

THE FABLED EARTH

17 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page