top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Garden Party

ISBN: 9781837909773

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 03/14/2024

Format: e-book

My Rating: TBR


It’s so kind of our neighbours to throw this party welcoming us to our new home. My husband and I finally moved to the right place. A happy, safe street where nobody knows about my mistakes. But I soon learn their smiling faces hide even deadlier secrets…


As I take in the little plates of sandwiches arranged over checked tablecloths, the lavish cocktails, and children playing, I finally feel happy in my new home with Owen. I love hearing the gossip from the local families; the whispers about which wives I should avoid, and which husbands sneak out at night.


But then I notice that the mother at number 3, Phillipa, is completely ignoring her sweet little girl. All blue-eyed Lexi wants is for her mother to play with her. And as Lexi pulls on Phillipa’s skirt, I’m certain I hear the woman threaten to smack her.


Isn’t anyone going to say something? Even as I’m filled with rage, terrible memories flood back: of standing in a cold, thin hospital gown, hearing I may never have my own biological child.

And then a shout pierces my memory. Lexi has run away from her mother and nearly fallen into the large, deep pond in the middle of the green. Everyone rushes over to comfort her, while Philippa stays at the party to top up her drink.


I promised Owen I’d put my past behind me so that we could start a new life. But some people don’t deserve to become mothers. I plaster a smile onto my face. I need to befriend Philippa. And do whatever it takes to keep Lexi safe…


A twisty and utterly unputdownable thriller about the secrets hidden behind closed doors. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Freida McFadden and K.L. Slater will be up all night desperate to keep reading.






About the Author



Wendy Clarke is a bestselling author of psychological thrillers. She started her career writing short fiction and serials for national women’s magazines. After having over three hundred short stories published, she progressed to writing novels. With a degree in psychology, and intrigued with how the human mind can affect behaviour, it was inevitable that she would eventually want to explore her darker side.


What She Saw was Wendy’s debut psychological thriller, published by Bookouture. Since then, she has published six more, We Were Sisters, The Bride, His Hidden Wife, Blind Date, Childhood Sweetheart and her latest, The Night Out.


In her previous life, Wendy has published three collections of short stories and has been a short story judge for the Chiltern Writers Group, Nottingham Writers Group and The Society of Women Writers and journalists.


Wendy lives with her husband and step-dog in Sussex and when not writing is usually dancing, singing or watching any programme that involves food! WEBSITE




0 views
bottom of page