JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

The Narrator


By: K. L. Slater

ISBN: 9781803149301

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 01/06/2023

Format: e-book

My Rating: 5 Stars (ARC)


TOP BOOKS OF 2023 LIST


What if the chance of a perfect life… put your daughter in grave danger?


Being a single mother is tough, but I’d do anything for my little girl Scarlet. I’d given up on my career as a voice actor when the call came, but suddenly I was the new narrator for a secret book from bestselling author Philippa Roberts, who has been missing for eight months. It was a lifeline for me and my daughter.


I hated that it meant leaving Scarlet with my ex in his perfect new home with his perfect new girlfriend. But I knew it was the right thing to do.


But as I start reading Philippa’s new novel, I start to wonder if it’s no coincidence that I’ve been chosen to narrate it. There’s something hidden in the pages of this book, I’m sure of it. Some clue to Philippa’s disappearance. And I don’t feel safe. I think I’m being watched. My room has been searched.


And then my ex’s girlfriend calls in tears and everything starts to click together. If I don’t find answers fast, I’ll lose more than my second chance. I’ll lose my daughter.


A completely gripping thriller that will hook you in from the first page and leave you gasping out loud. Fans of Our House, The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us won’t be able to put The Narrator down!


Buy the Book




#TheNarrator



My Review


A twisty road of deception that starts with a bang and ends with an explosion!

An author, an assistant, a narrator, and an obsessive book club fan collide in this thrills-by-the-minute twisty psychological suspense thriller—THE NARRATOR by the "queen" of thrills, K. L. Slater.


Eve, the narrator, and her daughter, Scarlet, are caught in the cross-fires keeping you guessing to the final jaw-dropping conclusion. The narrator's ex-husband and his new girlfriend Saskia are also players in this web of deceit and lies.


How far would you go to produce another book in a series?

10 months earlier. The latest installment of the best-selling Tower series is set to receive the smoking gun award for the crime fiction award of the year. Years of hard work and the ultimate payoff.


However, the famous author novelist Philippa Roberts does NOT make it to the award ceremony.

She has disappeared. Was she kidnapped? Where is the author? Her readers are distraught. Why leave on this night?


Global bestselling author Philippa is married to Flo and appears a manuscript has suddenly reappeared. A secret book? Where did it come from? The 10th in the series will be published even though the author is MIA. She wrote her first book in the series at age 41 and is now a vast success nine books later.


Eve, a highly successful voice-over actor (crime fiction) and the narrator, is now out of work to no fault of her own. The author has disappeared. Two earlier, she was living her perfect life with Hugo and 5 yr old daughter Scarlett. All has changed.


On top of this, more bad news. Her dad disappeared, and they found him at a bottom of a river. Her successful husband, Hugo, was having an affair with Sasyik (her colleague and friend) and is now pregnant and living in a beautiful countryside estate.


Now divorced and out of work, she is forced to move back with her daughter Scarlet to live with her mum while looking for work and working part-time in a bar.


Fate steps in and ask her to narrate a new book by disappeared novelist Philippa Roberts. She is delighted, but at age 36, she must return to London, leaving her daughter with her mum, and come home on the weekends.


However, her nasty ex-husband Hugo uses this time to try and convince her daughter to stay with him in his new Cottage estate and newfound wealth with his new wife, Saskia, who is pregnant. He is manipulative and controlling.


When Eve starts reading the script for the audio, she notices something weird. She knows this author's work because she narrated all the series' books. This book does not seem like the writing of Philippa Roberts. Is she trying to send a hidden message? No readers will accept this.


Chad, a weirdo obsessive fan of the author's book club, knows more than anything about the author and the books. What does he have to do with the missing author?


Even though the investigation is going cold, Eve starts sleuthing and asking questions; however, someone knows she is getting too close, and she starts receiving threats. The book fan club is also after her.


Her dream job has turned into a nightmare, and now she and her daughter are in danger. Someone does not want secrets uncovered. Something is off with Hugo, and Saskia has uncovered some evidence that has to do with her dad and more.


Is Philippa still alive, and if so, did she write the final manuscript or someone else? How do all the pieces fit together in this riveting mystery?


A magnificent, intricately plotted thriller that will have you questioning everyone’s motives until the stunning ending. Distinctive, well-developed characters complement the skillfully paced plot. A nail-biter and cracker of a read. Book readers and authors will devour this one.



Another multi-layered, gripping, propulsive page-turner packed with never-saw-that-coming shocks and surprises. A master class in psychological suspense.

A special thank you to #Bookouture and #NetGalley for an e-ARC to read, review, and enjoy! I also purchased the audible book when it came out and enjoyed it, too.


The ultimate listening experience. Audiobook fans will enjoy this one. (see review link below). Eve was a strong, relatable, and tenacious protagonist, and enjoyed her character. THE NARRATOR is one of my favorite books by Slater.

@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars ✨✨✨✨✨

Pub Date: Jan 6, 2022







About the Author


Kim is the number one bestselling author of nineteen psychological crime thrillers. She has sold over two million copies of her books worldwide. She has also written four Carnegie-nominated Young Adult novels as Kim Slater for Macmillan Children’s Books. Kim has an MA in Creative Writing and lives with her husband in a small Nottinghamshire village.


Order of publication:


SAFE WITH ME (2016)

BLINK (2017)

LIAR (2017)

THE MISTAKE (2017)

THE VISITOR (2018)

THE SECRET (2018)

CLOSER (2018)

FINDING GRACE (2019)

THE SILENT ONES (2019)

SINGLE (2019)

THE APARTMENT - AUDIBLE ORIGINAL only (2019) August

THE APARTMENT - eBook & paperback formats available (2020) April

LITTLE WHISPERS (2020)

THE GIRL SHE WANTED (2020)

THE EVIDENCE - AUDIBLE ORIGINAL only (2021) February

THE EVIDENCE - eBook & paperback formats available (2021) July

THE MARRIAGE (2021)

THE WIDOW (2021)

MISSING (2022)

THE NARRATOR - AUDIBLE ORIGINAL only (2022) August

THE NARRATOR - eBook & paperback formats available (2023) January

THE GIRLFRIEND (2022)

Publishers: Bookouture, Grand Central, Sphere, Audible

Agent: Camilla Bolton at Darley Anderson

Author website: www.KLSlaterAuthor.com

Twitter: @KimLSlater

Facebook: KL Slater Author

Instagram: KLSlaterAutho





View My Review of THE NARRATOR Audible Originals 8/22



10 views