top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

The Neighbour Upstairs


By: Kathryn Croft

ISBN: 9781800327412

Publisher: Canelo

Publication Date: 10/06/2022

Format: e-book

My Rating: 3 Stars (ARC)


Every decision has a consequence…

The break-up of Olivia’s marriage is hard on all involved, but especially her nine-year-old daughter, Ellie. They attempt to build a new life, and focus on the future. But Olivia is crushingly lonely, so when her new neighbour, Michael, extends the hand of friendship, it’s all she can do to stop herself clutching at it and never letting go.


Olivia has no idea how the course of her life will be altered by that choice.


Before long, Michael and Oliva are a couple. There are some difficulties making it work – after all, both parties have emotional baggage. Doesn’t everyone keep some secrets? If only Ellie could adjust, and Michael’s erratic sister, Chloe, didn’t keep bringing drama to their door.


But Olivia doesn’t listen to the warning signs before it’s far, far too late. By the time she realises something is badly wrong with the man she’s involved with, she cannot escape. The only way out is for the truth to explode like a bomb, shattering their lives, and ensuring no one caught in the middle will ever be the same again…


A compelling psychological thriller with an unforgettable ending from #1 bestseller Kathryn Croft. Perfect for readers who love Samantha Hayes, Alison James and S. E. Lynes.


Buy the Book




#TheNeighbourUpstairs





My Review


Kathryn Croft's THE NEIGHBOUR UPSTAIRS is a slow-burn, dark and twisted tale told in a second-person perspective from Olivia.


Olivia has left her husband, Carl of eleven years and is taking their daughter Ellie to Putney on the other side of London. She wants a fresh start.


However, her new start may be a nightmare and much worse than her current life.


Ellie is a gifted artist even at nine years old. She is torn between her parents separation. Ellie will plan on seeing her father on the weekend.


She moves to a Victorian house with other tenants. The realtor says the neighour upstairs, Michael seems nice.


Olivia writes reviews for an online magazine and works from home.


Then Oliva meets Michael the neighbour upstairs. She thinks an evening out will allow her to escape her mess. His flat does not seem lived in with no art work or nothing to showcase his personality. But perhaps he is a minimalist.


She thinks he is intelligent and she does not know much about him except they are about the same age, he is a math teacher, and he has a sister.


Olivia becomes too focused on Michael and obsessed. She is ignoring all the red flags and warning signs of this guy. She thinks of him constantly and they become sexually active for the next three months.


She does not allow herself to be happily single and alone. She feels there is something wrong, but she cannot walk away.


She finally meets his sister, Chloe, the blonde. Chloe seems very possessive of her brother and appears she does not like Olivia. There is something off about her but again Olivia is in denial.


She finds this relationship is too much work. She is also neglecting her own daughter.


Then Chloe seems to always be around her brother with so much drama. Then he gets freaky and Olivia seems to go along with it.


His manic sister Chloe moves in and out of the apt. The story takes a decidedly semi-sadistic sexual turn and Olivia and her daughter end up moving in with him. BIG MISTAKE!


Carl is not happy. She should have stayed with Carl. At least he is better than Michael/Chloe!


WAKE UP!!!


Things start to fall apart. Ellie is not happy. The grandmother dies (Carl's mother, Barbara) which they were close.


From here, the book continues on a downward spiral. No likable characters and everyone is MENTAL!


It appears Olivia is in some kind of mental institution or hospital, which is not clearly defined, speaking with someone named Henny.


Then the disaster...


This story was not for me! Totally disliked Olivia, Michael/Chloe. When someone does not like your child, this is a wake-up call - HELLO! I found myself skipping over parts to get to the end.


Published previously under another title, "Behind Closed Doors" (this is definitely IS not B. A. Paris's book).


Even though I have enjoyed Kathryn Croft's other books and will read more in the future, I cannot recommend this one even though I like the cover and the description. Totally weird.


Thank you #NetGalley and #Canelo for a gifted e-ARC for an honest review.


@JudithDCollins |#JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 3 Stars

Pub Date: Oct 6, 2022







About the Author



Kathryn is the bestselling author of nine psychological thrillers and to date, she has sold over one million copies of her books. Her third book, The Girl With No Past, spent over four weeks at number one on the Amazon UK chart, and all her books have reached number one in the UK Apple Books chart and she has also appeared on the Wall Street Journal's bestsellers list.

With publishing deals in sixteen different countries, Kathryn has just finished writing her tenth thriller and is now hard at work on book eleven.​


After twelve years living in London, she now lives in Guildford, Surrey, the place she grew up, with her husband and two young children.


www.kathryncroft.com


27 views
bottom of page