top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

The New Mother


By: Nora Murphy

ISBN: 978-1250822444

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Publication Date: 05/30/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: Currently Reading (ARC)


TOP BOOKS OF 2023 LIST

MAY 2023 MUST-READ BOOKS


From Nora Murphy, author of The Favor, The New Mother is both relatable and nerve-wracking, sympathetic and bone-chilling― a fresh new twist on motherhood and murder in suburbia.


Isolated. Lonely. Tired. It's hard being The New Mother. Sometimes it's murder.


Nothing is simple about being a new mom alone in a new house, especially when your baby is colicky. Natalie Fanning loves her son unconditionally, but being a mother was not all she wanted to be.


Enter Paul, the neighbor.


Paul provides the lifeline she needs in what feels like the most desperate of times. When Paul is helping with Oliver, calmed by his reassuring, steady presence, Nat feels like she can finally rest.


But Paul wants something in return. It’s no coincidence that he has befriended Nat―she is the perfect pawn for his own plan. Will Nat wake up in time to see it?


Buy the Book




#TheNewMother








The Favor


Domestic Abuse at its Finest! 5 STARS


Nora Murphy will keep you turning pages long past your bedtime with her smashing debut, THE FAVOR! A winner out of the gate. I could not tear myself away from this one. A top 2022 debut, she will be an author to follow for years to come. I cannot wait to see what comes next.


Two women, strangers, have more in common than they know.


Taut, exceptionally smart, addictive, and highly entertaining! I LOVED THIS ONE.


A superb character study and the author gets into the minds of her characters as they come alive on the pages. I was glued to the pages and rooting for these women. For fans of B.A. Paris and Kimberly Belle. READ MORE





About the Author


NORA MURPHY attended law school in Washington, D.C., then worked as a judicial law clerk before transitioning to private practice. During law school, she participated in two clinics through which she represented and studied the issues facing survivors of intimate partner violence. A practicing attorney, Nora writes as much as she can, usually long before the sunrise or on her phone for brief moments when the inspiration strikes. Nora resides in Maryland with her husband, young son, and five rescue pets. When she’s not working, writing, or chasing her toddler, Nora can be found contemplating her next ice cream run or reading. The Favor is her first novel. The New Mother is new second novel, coming May 30, 2023 by Minotaur Books. WEBSITE





9 views
bottom of page