Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

The Secret Stealers


By: Jane Healey

ISBN: 1542023556

Publisher: Lake Union

Publication Date: 4/1/2021

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars


AMAZON KINDLE FIRST PICK


A female American spy in Nazi-occupied France finds purpose behind enemy lines in a novel of unparalleled danger, love, and daring by the Amazon Charts bestselling author of The Beantown Girls.


Anna Cavanaugh is a restless young widow and brilliant French teacher at a private school in Washington, DC. Everything changes when she’s recruited into the Office of Strategic Services by family friend and legendary WWI hero Major General William Donovan.


Donovan has faith in her—and in all his “glorious amateurs” who are becoming Anna’s fast friends: Maggie, Anna’s down-to-earth mentor; Irene, who’s struggling to find support from her husband for her clandestine life; and Julia, a cheerful OSS liaison. But the more Anna learns about the organization’s secret missions, the more she longs to be stationed abroad. Then comes the opportunity: go undercover as a spy in the French Resistance to help steal critical intelligence that could ultimately turn the tide of the war.


Dispatched behind enemy lines and in constant danger, Anna is filled with adrenaline, passion, and fear. She’s driven to make a difference—for her country and for herself. Whatever the risk, she’s willing to take it to help liberate France from the shadows of occupation and to free herself from the shadows of her former life.


Buy the Book






Praise


“As realistic and heart-wrenching as The Secret Stealers is, it highlights the bravery and strength of the participants, of both genders, and reignites a faith in humanity.”

―Mystery & Suspense Magazine



“The Secret Stealers is a flawlessly crafted and engrossing story of the unexpected ways in which war changes who we are. Once again, Healey gifts readers with her trademark characters: everyday women who prove themselves to be extraordinary—women so relatable, so endearing, and so brave that they jump off the page and into our hearts.”

—Lynda Cohen Loigman, USA Today bestselling author of The Two-Family House and The Wartime Sisters


“Set against the fascinating and well-researched history of the OSS, Jane Healey has crafted a remarkable story of perseverance, friendship, and the adventurous spirit and bravery of women who were instrumental to the Allies’ efforts during WWII. This novel captured my heart while speeding up my pulse with its triumphs and tragedies; suspense and struggle; and ultimately, redemption, revelation, and reflection. Fans of Kate Quinn and Martha Hall Kelly will love this book.”

—Susie Orman Schnall, author of We Came Here to Shine and The Subway Girls


“The Secret Stealers is World War II historical fiction about women spies that offers the rare balance of nail-biting action with strong, fully-developed characters who embrace friendship, empowerment, and romance. Jane Healey’s crew of intrepid women are equally at home navigating the intrigue of the OSS in Washington, DC, and the dangers of war-torn France. This one’s not to be missed!”

—Elise Hooper, author of Fast Girls


“The Secret Stealers is a captivating, richly detailed gem of a novel—the kind of book you don’t want to put down because it has everything you love in a reading experience: an expertly crafted, fast-paced plot, a vivid WWII setting, a cast of intriguing, admirable characters and a wonderful mix of adventure and emotion. A must-read for those who love not only the very best of WWII fiction, but an altogether terrific read.”

—Julianne MacLean, USA Today bestselling author of A Fire Sparkling


“The Secret Stealers brings to life the fascinating—and often overlooked—stories of female spies during World War II. Impeccably researched, Healey’s novel immerses you in a world of secrets and treachery, right up to the heart-pounding conclusion.”

—Elizabeth Blackwell, author of Red Mistress


“In a time when our reading world is flooded with WW2 tales, Jane Healey’s The Secret Stealers focuses breathtakingly on the far lesser-known world of women spies and wireless operators in the European theater of war. Here is a riveting story that leaps from the United States to England to France, all meticulously researched so that we’re drawn fully into struggles and dangers where, truly, the future of the free world is at stake. A heart-pounding, page-turning triumph of a novel!” —Joy Jordan-Lake, author of the #1 Amazon bestselling novels Under a Gilded Moon and A Tangled Mercy


About the Author



When my daughters were born, I left a career in high tech to become a freelance writer. My passion for historical fiction became my new career when my first novel THE SATURDAY EVENING GIRLS CLUB was published in 2017. With the release of THE BEANTOWN GIRLS in 2019, I continued to fulfill my dream of writing lesser known stories of women in history.


I live outside of Boston with my two teen daughters, two idiotic cats and one amazing husband. I like reading, running, cooking, going to the beach and drinking lots of coffee.


My upcoming novel THE SECRET STEALERS is based on the true stories of the women of the Office of Strategic Services, the precursor to the CIA, during World War II. It will be released in March 2021. Website

20 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS