top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Soulmate


Narrators: Barrie Kreini,

Jessica Douglas-Henry

Macmillan Audio

ISBN: 978-1250229700

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Publication Date: 04/04/2023

Format: Hardcover, e-book, audio

My Rating: 5 Stars ++ (ARC)



From New York Times bestselling author Sally Hepworth, comes a twisty new domestic suspense novel in The Soulmate…


Gabe and Pippa Gerard have just moved into their dream house: a cliffside cottage in a sleepy coastal town outside Melbourne. It’s a fresh start to their marriage, and the perfect place to raise their two young daughters.


But the house’s perfect façade hides something more sinister: The Spot, where the tall cliffs have become a popular place for those wishing to end their lives. After talking someone down from the ledge, Gabe becomes a local hero, saving person after person… until one night, he doesn’t. And Pippa sees Gabe the moment after it happened, standing alone at the cliff’s edge, arms outstretched, palms facing out.


The death is ruled a suicide— Gabe said it was a stranger devastated over her husband’s infidelity. But when Pippa discovers that Gabe knew the victim, she has more questions than answers. Plus, the woman’s husband swears she wouldn’t have jumped. Why would Gabe lie about not knowing her? Why would she have been at The Spot, if not to jump? And did she really jump… or was she pushed? As Pippa works to uncover the truth, the foundations of the life they’ve built begin to crack and their deepest secrets start to unravel.


The Soulmate is a twisty domestic suspense novel that proves nothing—and no one— is ever as it seems.


Get ready for a thrilling, addictive novel about marriage, betrayal, and the secrets that push us to the edge in Sally Hepworth's The Soulmate.








My Rating:


The "Queen of domestic suspense," and master storyteller Sally Hepworth (a favorite author), returns following, The Younger Wife with her latest highly anticipated addictive domestic thriller, THE SOULMATE.


A deep dive into family dysfunction: the good and bad sides of marriage. Guilt, love, betrayal, loyalty. How far will they go for their family's sake? What wouldn't you do for your soulmate?


No one does twisty and dysfunctional better than Sally! I adore her, a big fan, having read all her books and all 5 STARS.


As Sally quotes: "I like to think of it as a murderous love story. Unconventional, of course, but that's what I do."

Agree!


Hepworth creates an atmospheric setting with her eighth novel, drawing you in from the get-go. Gabe and Pipa Gerard have been happily married for seven years with two daughters. They have purchased their dream home that overlooks a cliffside ocean with breathtaking views in a small coastal town outside Melbourne, Australia.


The cliff has been a popular spot known as "The Drop" for people to end their lives. Seven people have walked away. Gabe has become a whisperer who talks people down. Gabe makes people feel safe. The media calls him an angel.


Now, the eighth person was not so lucky.


When Amanda Cameron, the wife of Gabe’s former boss, Max—shows up near the cliff, Gabe goes out to work his magic as usual. However, this time the woman goes over the edge to her death. Was it a suicide?


When Gabe fails to save the eighth, a sordid web of secrets begins to unravel, pushing bonds of loyalty and love to the brink...


When Pippa discovers Gabe knew the victim, the questions spiral...


Did the victim jump? OR was she pushed? What secrets and admissions will be made after the woman's recent death?


Pippa is a lawyer, and she finds herself lying to the police. Does she doubt her husband? Gabe has had mental health issues in the past. Pipa is also hiding secrets. Gabe also has secrets.


We hear from two POVs: Pippa (then and now) and Amanda, the woman from the cliff— (before and after).


Nothing or no one is as they appear.


With tension mounting between Max and Gabe, there is also the missing mysterious flash drive. Are their lives in danger? The author combines suspense, betrayal, love, danger, and infidelity to keep readers turning to the final explosive conclusion as secrets unravel.


SALLY DAZZLES!


Twisty and highly creative. Her best yet! The best thriller for mental health, marriage, and domestic suspense. Top Books of 2023.


A warning needs to come with THE SOULMATE. Wait to start reading until you have time to read the entire book. Unputdownable! Finished at 3:26 am morning and started before I went to bed.


I was fortunate to receive the e-book and the audiobook. I read the e-book about eight months ago and then listened to the audiobook more recently, which was fantastic.


AUDIOBOOK: 🎧 Narrators Barrie Kreinik and Jessica Douglas-Henry gave a captivating performance! I could almost hear the waves crashing at the bottom of the cliff.


As always, Hepworth pulls out some major shockers and is a master at twists, marriages, secrets, and deception in marriage. She covers some highly charged topics of mental illness, health, family pressures, parenting, child-rearing, career stresses, adultery, and more with compassion and sensitivity. Highly recommend!


Thank you to #StMartinsPress #MacmillianAudio and #NetGalley for a gifted ARC and ALC in exchange for an honest review. Also purchased the hardcover copy. #SPMInfluencers


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 💙Stars +

Pub Date: April 4, 2023



Praise


One of Buzzfeed's 20 Most Anticipated Thrillers of 2023

A Book of the Month Club Pick for March 2023


"The latest twisty page-turner from the brilliant Sally Hepworth. Masterfully designed to keep readers on the edge of their seats and wanting more, The Soulmate examines love and loyalty, and how far we're willing to go for the sake of family. I devoured this book!"

—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing


"[A] twisty psychological thriller... Fans of domestic suspense will be satisfied." —Publishers Weekly

"Sympathetic characters combined with powerful themes of guilt, love, and loyalty will lead readers to consider the power of self-delusion. Recommended for fans of Liane Moriarty and Fiona Barton."

—-Booklist


"The Soulmate is the perfect thriller. Twisty, fun, and compelling in that I know I should go to bed, but this new twist means I’m up until at least 3 AM way. But it also cuts into the murky heart of a marriage, asking questions about trust, fidelity, the secrets we keep, and the things we’ll do for love."

—Rachel Hawkins, New York Times Bestselling Author


"The Soulmate is the perfect thriller. Twisty, fun, and compelling in that I know I should go to bed, but this new twist means I’m up until at least 3 AM way. But it also cuts into the murky heart of a marriage, asking questions about trust, fidelity, the secrets we keep, and the things we’ll do for love."

—Rachel Hawkins, New York Times Bestselling Author



About the Author


Sally Hepworth is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, most recently The Younger Wife. Her novel, The Mother-In-Law (2019), has been optioned for a TV series by Hollywood actress and producer, Amy Poehler.


Drawing on the good, the bad and the downright odd of human behaviour, Sally writes incisively about family, relationships and identity. Her domestic thriller novels are laced with quirky humour, sass and a darkly charming tone.


Sally's novels are available around the globe in English and have been translated into 20 languages. She has sold more than one million books worldwide.


Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three children. WEBSITE







Check out my #AuthorElevatorSeries Q&A with SALLY HEPWORTH and THE GOOD SISTER.

Where we go behind the book and the author. A fun interview!

108 views

Comments


bottom of page