top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Surgeon


Narrator: Gwendolyn Druyor

ISBN: 978-1837903313

Publisher: Hachette UK | Bookouture

Publication Date: 03/08/2023

Format: Audiobook

My Rating: 3.5 Stars (ARC)



Trusted surgeon. Loving wife. Murderer?


Before my world came crashing down, I had it all. The successful career I dreamed of. The beautiful red-brick home where I could relax in front of the fire. The handsome, devoted husband whose blue eyes and charming smile always made me feel safe.


As I call time of death, my voice is steady. My colleagues stand hushed around me, their eyes on me, confused, concerned.


I have never lost a patient until today.


My hands tremble inside their gloves. I slide down the cold tiled walls, my heart racing in my chest.


I have never hated a patient until today.


But what choice did I have, once I recognized him?


And what will I do to protect myself, if someone learns the truth?


A totally gripping psychological thriller that will have you racing through the pages, gasping for breath until the final jaw-dropping twist. If you love Freida McFadden, Shari Lapena and The Girl on the Train, you won’t be able to put this down.









My Review


Leslie Wolfe's latest medical thriller, THE SURGEON —is packed with twists and turns where nothing is as it appears with a jaw-dropping twist.


Dr. Anne Wiley is a cardiothoracic surgeon who lost a patient, Caleb Donaghy, on the operating table. She has never lost a patient on the table until now. Did Anne call death too early? Could she have done more? Something was not right.


She recognized the patient. He was an evil man. Was she glad he was dead? Is she a murderer? Will the hospital investigate?


Set in Chicago, we met Anne, Derreck, and Paula—a triangle. The players have more in common than they know.


Anne's husband, Derreck, is an attorney and hopes to soon be Mayor. He is also having an affair with Paula.


Paula Fuselier is ambitious, with State's Attorney Office, and on her way to becoming the State Attorney General. Paula and Derreck spend their time in hotels. Paula knows Derreck will never leave his wealthy wife. Anne is the one with the money.


However, Paula has a hidden agenda. She is obsessed. She wants to bring Anne down. She is using her office and position to push this investigation into the death and Anne.


Anne's mom (she also has secrets) lives with Anne and Derreck, and later in the book we find out, they adopted a foster child named Melanie. Anne loved her little sister and we learn she died, but we do not know how until later.


Everyone is keeping their own dark secrets.


Paula is evil and manipulative, and soon Derreck finds out about Paula. Paula has been waiting months for the famous Dr. Anne Wiley to make a mistake. He still does not know how far she will go and why.


Two questions haunt Anne:

  • Why did his heart refuse to start?

  • And why has the State's Attorney Office made Donaghy's heart into a case worth investigating?


How do all these storylines connect, and how does the man on the table fit into these lives? I did not see this one coming. Readers will be pleasantly surprised.


A dark and chilling tale! Gripped from page one of this shock-inducing medical thriller of revenge, obsession, and ambition— prepare to be hooked.

I alternated between the e-book and the audiobook narrated by Gwendolyn Druyor. My concerns with the audiobook were either the narrator or how the book was intended with the two main characters.


Both voices were to the extremes. Anne was very naive, whiny, and soft-spoken and did not come across as an intelligent and confident surgeon. On the other hand, Paula was over the top, mean, unglued, and in your face, and not composed for someone of her position. I also noted other reviewers with the same line of thinking.


Book 4 Stars

Audio 3 Stars

Overall 3.5 Stars rounded to 4 Stars


My first book by Leslie Wolfe, and I look forward to reading more.


Thank you to #Bookouture and #NetGalley for a gifted e-ARC and ALC in exchange for an honest review.



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: March 8, 2023

My Rating: 3.5 Stars, rounded to 4 Stars





About the Author


Leslie Wolfe is a bestselling author whose novels break the mold of traditional thrillers. She creates unforgettable, brilliant, strong women heroes who deliver fast-paced, satisfying suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology.


Leslie released the first novel, "Executive", in October 2011. Since then, she has written many more, continuing to break down barriers of traditional thrillers. Her style of fast-paced suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology, has made Leslie one of the most read authors in the genre and she has created an array of unforgettable, brilliant and strong women heroes along the way.


Reminiscent of the television drama "Criminal Minds", her series of books featuring the fierce and relentless FBI Agent Tess Winnett would be of great interest to readers of James Patterson, Melinda Leigh, and David Baldacci crime thrillers. Fans of Kendra Elliot and Robert Dugoni suspenseful mysteries would love the Las Vegas Crime series, featuring the tension-filled relationship between Baxter and Holt. Finally, her Alex Hoffmann series of political and espionage action adventure will enthrall readers of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, and Lee Child.


Leslie has received much acclaim for her work, including inquiries from Hollywood, and her books offer something that is different and tangible, with readers becoming invested in not only the main characters and plot but also with the ruthless minds of the killers she creates.


Fans of Jack Ryan, Jason Bourne, James Bond, and Jack Reacher will love Alex Hoffmann. WEBSITE






218 views
bottom of page