top of page
Top of Blog
Exotic refreshing cocktails next to book and straw hat by the pool on vacation._edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Widow Bride

Narrator: Amelia Sciandra

ISBN: 9781835251744

Publisher: Bookouture

Hachette UK

Publication Date: 03/11/2024

Format: Other

My Rating: 4 Stars (ARC)


BLOG TOUR HOST

Her diamond engagement ring glitters as she tells me he’s the one. But I’m sure there’s hesitation in her voice and the way she winces when her fiancé pulls her close makes my stomach drop.


Could he be as dangerous as I fear?


I thought handsome, charming Blake would be the perfect fit for my quiet and sweet-natured friend Melanie. Widowed far too young, she deserved a second chance at love. So, when he proposed so soon after I set them up on a date, I convinced myself that the timing was just right.


But I should have stopped it.


I tried to ignore Blake’s controlling behaviour. It started small; telling her not to have a glass of champagne to celebrate their engagement, putting cameras up around her house for “safety”. But Mel seemed so happy and in love, I couldn’t bring myself to share my creeping doubts.

If only I had.


Because now I’m not only worried about what Blake is doing to Mel behind closed doors. Since he warned me to back off their relationship, I’m certain I’m being followed. Then I look into Blake’s past. I’m sure he’s working with someone else. Someone close to me…


I need to get us both out of here. What have I done?


A completely gripping psychological thriller which will have you reading late into the night until you reach the final shocking twist. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us and The Perfect Marriage.









My Review


Carey Baldwin's latest, THE WIDOW BRIDE, is a twisty dark psychological thriller where no one is as they seem—with a final twist you do not see coming!


Rosalyn promised her brother, Philip, that she would take care of his wife, Melanie, after he passed from cancer. It has been a year, and Rosalyn encourages her to get more and socialize, so she agrees.


Enter Blake! Blake is a new neighbor and Rosalyn's husband, Ashton's best friend. He has known him since college.


They think this will be a perfect match, and Blake shows interest in Melanie. Melanie deserves a happy ending.


Now they are engaged, and Melanie thinks he is the one. But if Blake turns out to be controlling, she may have stopped this relationship.


But Melanie seems happy but has lost her spark. Blake warns her to back off. Now, someone is following her.


What is going on? Something sinister seems to be at play.


THE WIDOW BRIDE is gripping, unpredictable, and mind-blowing! You are unsure whom to trust—from unreliable narrators, lies, deceit, and secrets, with many unexpected twists and turns in this domestic suspense. My first book by the author, and I look forward to reading more.


Blog Tour Host: 11 March 2024


Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for a gifted ARC for an honest review.



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: 11 March 2024

My Rating: 4 Stars





About the Author



Carey Baldwin is a USA Today bestselling author of psychological suspense. Also a dedicated physician, she holds two doctoral degrees, one in medicine and one in psychology. Her experience in the fields of medicine and psychology often informs her writing. She loves reading and writing stories that keep you off balance and on the edge of your seat.

Creating stories and then sharing them with you so that you can shine your own light on them, reading through a lens shaped by your own perceptions, brings her joy. She hopes you enjoy the books! WEBSITE


23 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page