top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

Where The Dead Sleep

Series: Ben Packard (Book #2 )

By: Joshua Moehling

ISBN: 9781728247922

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

Publication Date: 08/15/2023

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars ++ (ARC)


AUG 2023 MUST-READ BOOKS

TOP BOOKS OF 2023


"A dark and complex mystery that will consume you." –Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight, for And There He Kept Her


A small town's dark secrets turn deadly...


When an early morning call brings Deputy Ben Packard to the scene of a home invasion, he finds Bill Sandersen shot in his bed. Bill was a well-liked local who chased easy money his whole life, leaving bad debts and broken hearts in his wake. Everyone Packard talks to has a story about Bill, but no one has a clear motive for wanting him dead. The business partner. The ex-wife. The current wife. The high-stakes poker buddies. Any of them—or none of them—could be guilty.


As the investigation begins, tragedy strikes the Sheriff's department, forcing Packard to make a difficult choice about his future: step down as acting Sheriff and pursue the quiet life he came to Sandy Lake in search of, or subject himself to the scrutiny of an election for the full-time role of Sheriff, a job he's not sure he wants.


There's a hidden history to Sandy Lake that Packard, ever the outsider, can't see. Bad blood and old secrets run deep. But an attempt on Packard's life means he's getting uncomfortably close to the dangerous legacy of the quiet Minnesota town. And someone will do anything to keep it hidden.


Buy the Book




Review Coming!

#WhereTheDeadSleep





Praise



"With Where the Dead Sleep, Joshua Moehling solidifies his place as one of the best new voices in the mystery genre. Moehling nails the spirit of small-town life in Minnesota’s unique North Country. His understanding of the darkness that can haunt the human spirit twists his story in wonderfully unpredictable ways. Fans of Walt Longmire or Joe Pickett or my own Cork O’Connor have reason to celebrate and look forward to a long life for Moehling’s series and its fresh, vibrant protagonist Ben Packard." ― William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author of the Cork O’Connor series


"Evocative and charming with a deadpan wit, Joshua Moehling's Where the Dead Sleep is a richly satisfying mystery with fully-drawn characters―especially the winning and deeply human protagonist, Sheriff Ben Packard. Joshua Moehling's skill as a writer and storyteller is evident on every page. I can't wait to read the next installment in this excellent series!" ― Nick Petrie, bestselling author of The Runaway



"Observant and authentic (and funny, too), Where the Dead Sleep is a perfect mystery, the literary descendant of Fargo and Mare of Easttown and an exploration of all the nooks and shadows that make Sandy Lake, MN an ideal place to spend a summer and a chilling place to pass a winter. I’d highly recommend it to every fan of crime fiction, but especially those reading in a lake house just after sunset."

― Adam White, bestselling author of The Midcoast



"Where the Dead Sleep is a beautifully written mystery that had me on the edge of my seat. Joshua Moehling has created unforgettable characters in a story that kept me guessing the whole way through. Where the Dead Sleep is not to be missed."

― RJ Jacobs, author of This is How We End Things





Coming in Paperback

January 31, 2023

Ben Packard #1


AND THERE HE KEPT HER



"This book isn't just unputdownable, it's the definition of the word."

—Samantha Downing, international bestselling author of For Your Own Good


"And There He Kept Her exploits the rich terrain of a small town where an overactive grapevine thrives and seemingly everyone conceals a secret."

—Mystery Scene Magazine?


They thought he was a helpless old man. They were wrong.


When two teenagers break into a house on a remote lake in search of prescription drugs, what starts as a simple burglary turns into a nightmare for all involved. Emmett Burr has secrets he's been keeping in his basement for more than two decades, and he'll do anything to keep his past from being revealed. As he gets the upper hand on his tormentors, the lines blur between victim, abuser, and protector.


Personal tragedy has sent former police officer Ben Packard back to the small Minnesota town of Sandy Lake in search of a fresh start. Now a sheriff's deputy, Packard is leading the investigation into the missing teens, motivated by a family connection. As clues dry up and time runs out to save them, Packard is forced to reveal his own secrets and dig deep to uncover the dark past of the place he now calls home.


Unrelentingly suspenseful and written with a piercing gaze into the dark depths of the human soul, And There He Kept Her is a thrilling page-turner that introduces readers to a complicated new hero and forces us to consider the true nature of evil. READ MORE







View my #AuthorElevatorSeries Interview

with Joshua Moehling

AND THERE HE KEPT HERE

Behind the scenes of the book and the author!





About the Author



Joshua Moehling works in the medical device industry by day and writes at night.

He lives in Minneapolis.

His first novel, AND THERE HE KEPT HER, was published in 2022, (Ben Packard #1) and his second novel, WHERE THE DEAD SLEEP, (Ben Packard #2) will be released Aug 15, 2023 from Poisoned Pen Press/Sourcebook.


Connect with Joshua

WEBSITE TWITTER FACEBOOK INSTAGRAM


20 views
bottom of page