top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Where They Lie


Series: Nora McTavish #1

ISBN: 978-1662508080

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publication Date: 05/01/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: 3.5 Stars


The murder of an influencer’s family exposes the disturbing secrets behind the facade in a haunting novel of suspense by Joe Hart, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of Or Else.


Family is content for Kaylee Volk. Her vlogs celebrate a happy home with her husband and their three foster children, Bethany, Mason, and Andrea. Everything is perfect until the day the family’s private plane plummets into the ocean. Only Kaylee manages to survive―with a shocking revelation: Andrea did it.


This is particularly devastating for Nora McTavish, a child protective services agent who is already familiar with Andrea’s troubled history. Given Nora’s own traumatic childhood, how could she not have sensed the profound darkness festering within the girl? What did she miss? Could she have stopped Andrea?


As Kaylee struggles to cope with the crushing loss, Nora’s investigation begins. But her guilt soon turns to unease. Secret by secret, Nora pieces together a Volk family puzzle that’s more twisted than anyone saw―one far from the picture-perfect life Kaylee sold to the public. And the closer Nora looks, the more disturbing it gets.







Praise

“The tragic crash of a small plane sets an Oregon social worker on the trail of even greater tragedies behind it.…A well-paced exposé of dark family secrets.”

—Kirkus Reviews


“The plot takes many twists and turns and keeps readers guessing until the surprising end. For fans of Harlan Coben, Riley Sager, and Linwood Barclay.”

—Library Journal





About the Author



Joe Hart is the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of more than fifteen novels, including Or Else, The River Is Dark, Obscura, and The Last Girl. When not writing, he enjoys reading, exercising, exploring the great outdoors, and watching movies with his family. For more information on his upcoming novels and access to his blog, visit www.joehartbooks.com.

5 views

Comentarios


bottom of page