top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

You Always Come Back


By: Emily Smith

ISBN: 9781639105861

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date: 10/10/2023

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


OCT 2023 MUST-READ BOOKS

In the vein of Kathleen Barber and Julia Heaberlin comes an electrifying debut suspense that pits the inhabitants of a small town against each other.


Nine years ago, July Weaver’s little sister was one of the first victims of the Pacific Lake Killer, a serial killer in Georgia. When other girls began to disappear and were found dead, it was July’s testimony that put her own father into prison for the crimes. After the sentencing, she fled to Nashville to focus on her music career and to try to forget the horrible past. But when her brother tries to kill himself, July is forced to come back home and reunite with her four remaining siblings.


What she isn’t expecting is to uncover new evidence that makes her question everything that happened to her sister nine years ago. Is it possible that July blamed the wrong person? Is it possible that the Pacific Lake Killer is still out there? As the linchpin to the case against her father—and the reason the Pacific Lake Killer case is closed—July knows it isn’t long before the killer will set their eyes back on her.


If they’re really still out there.


Buy the Book




Praise


“Stunning and accomplished, You Always Come Back is the serial killer story we’d all love to write. Following July and her perfectly-drawn, dysfunctional family, it weaves a tale of trauma and doubt as it crosses between present day and the awful events all those years ago. Compelling and heartbreaking and more than a little bit horrific, I read it breathless for the final, desperate, conclusion.”

—Sam Holland, author of The Echo Man



About the Author



Emily Smith is a New Jersey native, who pursued her BFA in Dramatic Writing at NYU and her MFA in Creative Writing at American University. In her spare time, she enjoys writing novels, gardening, reading, and caring for her rambunctious Greater Swiss Mountain Dog.


YOU ALWAYS COME BACK IS HER DEBUT NOVEL Coming Oct 10, 2023 by Crooked Lane Books.

INSTAGRAM




0 views
bottom of page