WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Secrets of Midwives

By: Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 9781250051899
Publisher:  St. Martin's Press
Publication Date:  2/10/2015
Format: Other
My Rating:  5 Stars 
 
"With empathy and keen insight, Sally Hepworth delivers a page-turning novel about the complex, lovely, and even heartbreaking relationships between mothers and daughters.—Emily Giffin
 
Three generations of women.  Secrets in the present and from the past. A captivating tale of life, loss, and love…
 
Neva Bradley, a third-generation midwife, is determined to keep the details surrounding her own pregnancy—including the identity of the baby’s father— hidden from her family and co-workers for as long as possible. Her mother,
 
Grace, finds it impossible to let this secret rest. The more Grace prods, the tighter Neva holds to her story, and the more the lifelong differences between private, quiet Neva and open, gregarious Grace strain their relationship. For Floss, Neva’s grandmother and a retired midwife, Neva’s situation thrusts her back sixty years in time to a secret that eerily mirrors her granddaughter’s—one which, if revealed, will have life-changing consequences for them all.
 
As Neva’s pregnancy progresses and speculation makes it harder and harder to conceal the truth, Floss wonders if hiding her own truth is ultimately more harmful than telling it. Will these women reveal their secrets and deal with the inevitable consequences? Or are some secrets best kept hidden?
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 
Sally Hepworth’s THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES, is a beautifully written and emotional novel of family, motherhood, secrets, love and trust—where family does not always mean biological.
 
The multi-generational novel grabbed me from the first page, and held me until I reached the ending. What a great way to spend a Sunday after the busy Christmas holidays. So engaging, I had to finish in one day—totally captivating!
 
Three generations of women: (all lovable characters) All midwives: Grandmother-Floss; Mother-Grace; and Daughter-Neva. Even though Floss is now eighty-three and not actively practicing, each of them have a genuine altruistic passion and love of mothers and babies, and helping to bring life into the world. 
 
Set in the US, New England area in the winter, Floss is living with Lil, a woman (very cool Gram); however, Floss has not been open and honest with Lil about her past and tends to keep her family life separate from her personal life. I loved Gram’s character especially when we learn of her past in England and what she went through to protect those she loved. I want her for a grandmother.
 
Grace, a middle-aged wife, married to Robert; she loves her job and likes to maintain control of her life as well as her daughter's life. Due to not having a father in her life growing up, she is desperate to know the identity of her daughter’s baby in order for him to be a part of her life. Grace’s marriage is not so great, sometimes, and found her character witty; loved her humor and rebellious BoHo side.
 
Neva is single, twenty-nine, working as a professional Certified Nurse-Midwife at the Birthing Center at a hospital in Providence, Rhode Island. She has just dropped the bomb she is seven months pregnant to her mom and Gram. They are shocked. She claims there is no father (she is not naming). She has a gal roommate, and a good-looking and charming pediatrician friend, Patrick (loved him), who spends the night on her sofa occasionally, and has had a one night stand with two other guys (one married). 
 
A very engaging and compelling tale of three generations of women and the secrets they hold which could tear their lives apart. I really enjoyed how the author allows each character to speak and titles the sections with names as very easy to follow. Loved the part where all three woman pulled together for the suspenseful birth, with such vivid settings, making me feel I was in the room. 
 
The most powerful part of the novel is the historical fiction element where we learn the mystery surrounding Gram’s secret. We get bits and pieces of her time in 1954 in Kings Langley, England, when she was a single woman, a midwife riding her bike to help women with two best girlfriends at the boarding house (Evie and Elizabeth). Amazing writing, intensity as we learn the fate of Elizabeth. 
 
Suspenseful flashbacks and pieces of Gram’s story are given during the novel; however, the ultimate reveal comes towards end; her secret to her daughter and granddaughter, and her partner with a heartbreaking and poignant letter. It was so moving, you will cry and smile at the same time.
 
The storylines are seamless for a dynamic conclusion and courageous story of love, family and the joy of motherhood and its true meaning. The research into deliveries and the medical, was impeccable and quite informative, with well-developed characters. An ideal choice for book clubs or discussions for different viewpoints of the characters and the, what ifs. 
 
Fans of Diane Chamberlain, Kristin Hannah, Emilie Richards, Sarah Jio, and Beth Hoffman will enjoy THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES. Highly recommend to those who love family drama, historical, literary, and women’s fiction, multi-generational and suspense. 
 
This was my first book by Hepworth and look forward to reading more from this talented storyteller.
 
Review Links:
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr
Buy the Book 
Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date