top of page
Top of Blog
wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

A Girl's Guide to Moving On

Series: New Beginnings #2

ISBN: 9780553391923

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: 2/23/2016

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4 Stars

In this powerful and uplifting novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber, a mother and her daughter-in-law bravely leave their troubled marriages and face the challenge of starting over. Leaning on each other, Nichole and Leanne discover that their inner strength and capacity for love are greater than they ever imagined. When Nichole discovers that her husband, Jake, has been unfaithful, the illusion of her perfect life is indelibly shattered. While juggling her young son, a new job, and volunteer work, Nichole meets Rocco, who is the opposite of Jake in nearly every way. Though blunt-spoken and rough around the edges, Rocco proves to be a dedicated father and thoughtful friend. But just as their relationship begins to blossom, Jake wagers everything on winning Nichole back—including their son Owen's happiness. Somehow, Nichole must find the courage to defy her fears and follow her heart, with far-reaching consequences for them all. Leanne has quietly ignored her husband's cheating for decades, but is jolted into action by the echo of Nichole's all-too-familiar crisis. While volunteering as a teacher of English as a second language, Leanne meets Nikolai, a charming, talented baker from Ukraine. Resolved to avoid the heartache and complications of romantic entanglements, Leanne nonetheless finds it difficult to resist Nikolai's effusive overtures—until an unexpected tragedy tests the very fabric of her commitments. An inspiring novel of friendship, reinvention, and hope, A Girl's Guide to Moving On affirms the ability of every woman to forge a new path, believe in love, and fearlessly find happiness.

My Review

A special thank you to Random House and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

A GIRL’S GUIDE TO MOVING ON (New Beginnings #2) by Debbie Macomber is an inspiring tale of troubled marriages, courage, and second chances. With the author's own trademark style, charms readers with her storytelling and keen insights into complex relationships, family, and love.

Nichole had the perfect life. A stay at home mom for their toddler Owen. Residing in an upscale community outside of Portland, Oregon. From her adoring husband, Jake, the prestigious country clubs, and the in-laws. Then in a single afternoon her world imploded. An affair (multiple), and his latest was pregnant. (following in his father’s footsteps). However, Nichole was not willing to look the other way, like her mother-in-law, Leanne.

Leanne’s husband Sean had been a generous husband; a good provider and father, and she never had to work outside the home. After being married five years, she learned he was having an affair. Devastated and shocked, she should have confronted him.

Instead, as the older generation often does, she swallowed her pride for fear of where it would lead, and what would happen. How foolish she had been. She was so worried about her son, and there had never been a divorce in the family. Over the years she had discovered his involvement in numerous affairs, and when her son was in college she even went so far as to file for a divorce. Like a fool, she believed her husband when he said he would be faithful. Six months, and it started up again.

It took her daughter-in- law’s courage to grab her attention. If Nichole could take action, so could she.

Without any family of her own to support her, Nichole was pleasantly surprised, Leanne followed suit and filed for divorce at the same time, from her thirty-five-year marriage. This was how they two ended up living in apartments across the hall from one another in downtown Portland.

Together they would be their own support group, as they faced each day of their new independent lives. They shortly put together a list called A Guide to Moving On. A guide to moving on, to letting go, and taking the next step. The two came up with all sorts of ways to give back and to start over, without baggage.

Readers hear from both Nichole and Leanne, their past, present, and their road to the future. Of failings, fears, and renewed strength to make better choices. A new life. A road to healing and love. New beginnings. New romance?

A lighthearted Hallmark chick-lit, told from two different perspectives and generations--the struggles, trials, betrayal, and conflicts of relationships, love, and family—which can be complex at times. Life’s unexpected tragedies and bumps in the road.

As always, Macomber weaves a heartwarming tale of friendship, forgiveness, and reinvention, with an inspiring tale of love and overcoming loss --only to be stronger the second time around.

Review Links:


About the Author

Debbie Macomber is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and one of today’s most popular writers with more than 170 million copies of her books in print worldwide. In her novels, Macomber brings to life compelling relationships that embrace family and enduring friendships, uplifting her readers with stories of connection and hope. Macomber’s novels have spent over 750 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Eight of these novels hit the number one spot.A devoted grandmother, Debbie and her husband Wayne live in Port Orchard, Washington (the town on which her Cedar Cove novels are based) and winter in Florida. Website Twitter






bottom of page