top of page
Top of Blog
Exotic refreshing cocktails next to book and straw hat by the pool on vacation._edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Baby Girl

Baby Girl

Memory House Collection #4


Publisher: Bent Pine

Publication Date: 3/15/2016

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars

When young Cheryl Ann leaves home, she thinks her path is straight…until she’s forced to make a choice she could never have imagined. The man in her life makes it clear: either pick your baby or pick me, he says. Suddenly, Cheryl finds herself at a crossroads. She makes a decision that will change her life forever, and that decision causes a chain of events that will lead Cheryl to a completely unexpected place. Baby Girl is a mother’s story. It’s about the greatest sacrifice a mother can make when she wants only the best for her child. It’s about falling in and out of love, of losing and finding one’s self. It’s about the perilous journey from passionate young love to happy true love and understanding the differences between the two. Baby Girl is a book that readers won’t want to miss because it’s a story they won’t forget. From the Author This book is based on a true story…a story that is heartbreaking at times but will leave readers with a better understanding of what a woman will do to protect her child. When I first heard this birth mother’s story I was touched by it, so much so that I needed to know more. When I knew more, I knew I needed to write my novel. The result is Baby Girl.

My Review

A special thank you to Bent Pine and the author for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Bette Lee Crosby spins her most poignant story yet, with her fourth installment of the charming Memory House Collection, BABY GIRL —based on a true story, an inspiring journey of a troubled young lady we met briefly in an earlier book through Ophelia. A young mother, with little options, and a series of poor choices---faced with an overwhelming amount of adversity, finds life is not always easy. Good and bad, right or wrong. Can something good come from our mistakes? Wise lessons learned. Cheryl learns a person’s worth is not judged by the amount of money they make or the things they own; worth can only be measured by the value they have passed along to others. When life is more than just surviving. Cheryl Ann Ferguson chooses many wrong roads with many memories and regrets. Some good, some bad. She takes us on her journey --how it began twenty some years earlier. Expectations can give us false hopes. When they are not met,we are disappointed. A young girl grew up in a household with a loving father and a bitter mom. After her father died, she was left with her mom. She was not supportive, or encouraging in any way. Cheryl was smart, working hard to save for college. Her mom refused; forcing her hand, basically saying she had to stay home and pay room and board. From this point on, her life is a series of difficult choices. She chose to leave with her high school sweetheart, Ryan. The first boy who paid attention to her. An infatuation. She needed someone to replace her dad. The void in her life. Cheryl managed to get a job working at a newspaper and slowly began working her way up the ladder. They worked together building a life. However, Ryan on the other hand kept waiting for the perfect timing (according to him—on his terms) for marriage and a family. He was more concerned about investments, boats, cars, material possessions, and money. He did not want the responsibility. No babies. When Cheryl finds herself pregnant, he made her choose. Him or the baby. She could not have an abortion, and decided to give the baby up for adoption. She was too young to try and make it on her own. She did not have the confidence. It was the hardest thing she had ever done. It was her Baby Girl. She will never forget this decision. In the process through the adoption agency and the adoptive parents, she meet Ophelia and her special dandelion tea. A friend for life. A wise woman. Giving up the baby haunted her, even though, she knew she was giving her a good home. However, down the road, she has problems getting pregnant when Ryan is ready. They grow apart, she is devastated. She expected him to be different; however, he was still the same selfish person he was in the past. From heartaches and sacrifices, love, loss, and betrayal---finding your true self. A mothers love. Rediscovery. A heartwarming, and inspiring story –readers will love Cheryl Ann, Ophelia, and Margaret. A good example to never give up—you never know what is waiting around the corner. As always, Bette is a true Southern storyteller, delving into the emotions, relationships and human dynamics—the cracks which break us, and ultimately make us stronger. A remarkable story, an incredible journey--for women and mothers of all ages --characters which linger long after the book ends. Ideal for Mother’s Day. Bette has a rare talent and a special gift---highly recommend all her books. Baby Girl can serve as a standalone; however, you will want to read the previous books in the series to explore Ophelia’s life—she is one special lady. Having read the other books in the series, Baby Girl is my favorite- A winner! Bette, you make us South Floridians proud.

Review Links:


About the Author

Bette Lee Crosby

“Storytelling is in my blood,” Crosby laughingly admits, “My mom was not a writer, but she was a captivating storyteller, so I find myself using bits and pieces of her voice in most everything I write.”

It is the wit and wisdom of that Southern Mama Crosby brings to her works of fiction; the result is a delightful blend of humor, mystery and romance along with a cast of quirky charters who will steal your heart away. Her work was first recognized in 2006 when she received The National League of American Pen Women Award for a then unpublished manuscript. She has since gone on to win nineteen awards for her work; these include: The Royal Palm Literary Award, the FAPA President’s Book Award Gold Medal, Reader’s Favorite Award Gold Medal, and the Reviewer’s Choice Award.

Crosby’s published works to date are: Memory House (2015), Passing through Perfect (2015), Wishing for Wonderful (2014), Blueberry Hill (2014), Previously Loved Treasures (2014), Jubilee’s Journey (2013), What Matters Most (2013), The Twelfth Child (2012), Life in the Land of IS (2012), Cracks in the Sidewalk (2011), Spare Change (2011). Read More






bottom of page