top of page
Top of Blog
Exotic refreshing cocktails next to book and straw hat by the pool on vacation._edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Ever After


The Ever After

ISBN: 1501194836

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: 6/5/2018

Format: Other

My Rating: 4 Stars (ARC) In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (Glamour) The Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.



My Review


Sarah Pekkanen (fav author) returns following The Perfect Neighbors (5 stars) with her latest, THE EVER AFTER —an intricate and gripping domestic suspense of marriage and family in crisis and its hidden secrets.


Fortysomething couple Josie and Frank Moore are happy with their two young daughters, Izzy and Zoe, in the Chicago suburbs. Frank was a good father. However, what is on Frank's iPhone shatters Josie's carefully planned life.


The email was from a woman named Dana (married). She confronts him. Someone he met on a business trip. Nine words, "Sighhh...Thought of you this morning in the shower."


Had the neighbors seen them together? Had Frank been having an affair behind her back? The two were pharmaceutical sales reps.


Josie wanted to know all the details. She is obsessed. Frank's iPhone contents completely disrupt Josie's meticulously organized life.


Josie has secrets as well. The hot stay-at-home, Steve. Is she any better?


Could she leave her husband? Were there other women? Does she know her husband?


Her mind swirls with options. Kick him out, get therapy, and try to work it out? Could she ever trust him again? They had been together for sixteen years.


From past to present, we learn more about the couple, their marriage, and the choices they will need to make.


COMPELLING! Sarah is a skilled writer, and THE EVER AFTER is raw, emotional, and thought-provoking. She gets to the heart of the marriage from both sides, with highly relatable characters. I enjoyed the insights which added to the character development, their history adding depth and dimension. I enjoyed Josie's character and her journey.


It is easy to be judgmental in relationships, but until you are faced with the decision, you do not know how you would react. I enjoyed all the emotions and suspense and the author's note about the inspiration behind the novel.


This is my 18th book by the author and a huge long-time fan! I read this book when it came out in 2018; however, I just realized I failed to post my review. I had a lot going on in my life from 2016-2018, so not surprised.


You must read her latest book coming August 1, 2023 Gone Tonight (5 stars). Love the author's work and highly recommend all her books.


Thanks to Atria Books and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy in exchange for an honest review. #CoverLove



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: June 5, 2018

My Rating: 4 Stars





Praise

"Pekkanen lets readers experience the full emotional scope of Josie’s devastation, from the tumultuous discovery of infidelity, to the rehashing of small memories given new weight, to the shaky attempts to rebuild and repair. Writing with rawness and realism, Pekkanen doesn’t hold back from showing Josie’s answer, confusion, and hurt. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Anne Tyler, and Pekkanen’s previous books will appreciate the story’s depth."

—Booklist

"Pekkanen excels at capturing the intimate details of family life and the insidiousness of domestic ennui."

—Publishers Weekly

“In her signature conversational style, Pekkanen uncovers the truth behind the lies as Josie comes to grips with reality vs. the mirage of her marriage. A weighty, emotional read with the author's trademark relatable, realistic characters. Pekkanen fans will clamor for this one.”

—Library Journal (starred review)

“A genuine and raw look into the aftermath of what happens to one family after it’s shaken by an affair… The Ever After pulls at the heart and reveals the characters’ inner layers of emotion in a way that captivates.”

—RT Magazine

"A compelling domestic drama that will take you on a serious ride.”

― Hello Giggles


About the Author

Sarah Pekkanen is the bestselling author of The Ever After, The Opposite of Me, Skipping a Beat, These Girls, The Best of Us, Catching Air, Things You Won’t Say, and The Perfect Neighbors. Her work has been published in People, The Washington Post, and USA TODAY, among other publications.

She lives with her family in Chevy Chase, Maryland. Read More

82 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page