Reading in summer vacation, concept_edit

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

Local Woman Missing


By: Mary Kubica

ISBN: 978-0778389446

Publisher: Park Row

Publication Date: 5/18/2021

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars +++


Top Books of 2021 People don’t just disappear without a trace… Shelby Tebow is the first to go missing. Not long after, Meredith Dickey and her six-year-old daughter, Delilah, vanish just blocks away from where Shelby was last seen, striking fear into their once-peaceful community. Are these incidents connected? After an elusive search that yields more questions than answers, the case eventually goes cold.

Now, eleven years later, Delilah shockingly returns. Everyone wants to know what happened to her, but no one is prepared for what they’ll find…

In this smart and chilling thriller, master of suspense and New York Times bestselling author Mary Kubica takes domestic secrets to a whole new level, showing that some people will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried.

Buy the Book



#LocalWomanMissing






Praise

“[A] daringly plotted, emotionally eviscerating psychological thriller.” —Publishers Weekly

“[Local Woman Missing] will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Gregg Olsen…. The twists, turns, and an unpredictable ending make it irresistible.”

—Library Journal


I'm shamelessly addicted to Mary Kubica's juicy, unpredictable reads, as much for her well-rounded, fully human, flawed characters as her sizzling plots--and she just keeps getting better. LOCAL WOMAN MISSING is a propulsive journey through a winding maze of secrets, leading to a jaw-dropping twist that I never saw coming. Loved every minute."

—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever

"Dark and twisty, with all the white-knuckle tension and jaw-dropping surprises readers have come to expect from Mary Kubica."

—-Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Home Before Dark

"Complex, richly atmospheric and thoroughly riveting, Local Woman Missing is a thoughtful look at how even the most innocuous secrets between happy couples and beloved friends in tightly knit neighborhoods can sometimes turn so unexpectedly and terrifyingly deadly."

—-Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and A Good Marriage



My Review



A KNOCKOUT!


An avid fan since her first book, and every one since —the master of domestic thrillers, NYT bestselling author Mary Kubica returns following (The Other Mrs.), with LOCAL WOMAN MISSING —the dangerous lengths some will go to keep their secrets.


Misdeeds and events that will change lives forever.


The powerhouse author is at the “Top of her Game!” Her best yet. I say that about each of her novels, but this one is off the charts:

"Complex, intense, unexpected twists, unpredictable and richly atmospheric!"


This novel could not be more perfect for TV! Super thrilled Black Bear Television has nabbed the rights to Mary Kubica’s “Local Woman Missing,” an upcoming mystery novel about a series of strange disappearances. Read More


It is a good thing since there is NO WAY this novel could be limited to a two-hour movie. LOCAL WOMAN MISSING deserves many seasons! RENEW. RENEW. RENEW. I hope they do not change a thing.


Her other two books, “The Good Girl” and “The Other Mrs” also optioned for film/Netflix. Every book she has written has landed on my Top Books of the Year. A favorite author!


When anyone asks me what book to read, I say, “Mary Kubica.” That is all you need to know. Anything with her name on it has my seal of approval. I read anything she writes.


Set in Chicago, in a lovely historic neighborhood in the suburbs. As with her other books, she immediately draws you in with her vivid descriptions and richly atmospheric. She grabs you and keeps you there from the first page to the last. There is never a dull moment.


We meet an intriguing cast of characters who are neighbors. However, everyone has secrets, and no one is as they appear. Never trust your neighbors.


At the opening of this novel, a wife and mother, Shelly, awaits her husband, Jason, to return home so she can have some “me time” away from the baby.




She goes for a run at night. (Of course, there will be more planned than a run. She is off to meet a married guy parked down the street for a bit of car action. Jason is also having an affair. The night does not go as planned.


Next, we switch to a young girl held captive in a basement and abused by an evil woman and man. She has been there for eleven years. She must escape her captives if she wants to remain alive.


Back to the suburbs, we meet neighbors Kate and Bea, a lesbian couple. Next door, and Meredith, John, with two children Delilah and Leo.



Shelly goes missing, then shortly after that, Meredith and Delilah go missing? How can this happen? Is it a serial killer, or are they connected?


Now years later, the girl escapes and returns home. Some woman gets the reward and brings her to a hospital.


However, is she the girl who went missing eleven years earlier? What happened to these women?


Kubica masterfully maneuvers multiple characters, timelines, narrators, points of view, and the PLOT! OMG! LOCAL WOMAN MISSING is a (domestic suspense) psychological thriller lover’s dream come true. There are many “hold your breath heart-pounding moments.” No way you can put this one down.


Keep up, readers; you do not want to miss a thing!


You will never read another novel like this one. I must find out the inspiration behind this killer novel. The creativity is brilliant, and the writing is utterly flawless. The skill to be able to juggle all these moving parts yet it appears seamless. BLOWN AWAY!


There are many red herrings; however, you will NOT be able to figure this one out. It will shock you. Many people may or may not like the ending; however, I thought it was perfection.


Jaw-dropping, propulsive, dark, chilling! Buy this book now before the TV series! Top Books of 2021.


A special thank you to Park Row and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. Also pre-ordered the hardcover copy and audio.


#JDCMustReadBooks








About the Author

Mary Kubica is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of THE GOOD GIRL and PRETTY BABY. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, in History and American Literature. She lives outside of Chicago with her husband and two children and enjoys photography, gardening and caring for the animals at a local shelter. Read More





38 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS