top of page
Top of Blog
coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Original Sins

Series: Riley Fisher #2

Narrator: Kate Handford

ISBN: 9781250341136

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Publication Date: 02/13/2024

Format: Audio

My Rating: TBR



In a brilliant and addictive thriller for fans of Tana French and Liz Moore, FBI rookie Riley Fisher must navigate a brutal serial killer as well as a kidnapping plot against the governor


It’s a brutal winter in Des Moines, Iowa, and the city is gripped by fear. A serial attacker known as the Sin Eater is stalking women and has just struck again. It’s a tough time and a tough place for Riley Fisher, a former small-town sergeant, to be reporting for duty as an FBI agent on her first assignment.


Teamed with a man she’s not sure she can trust and struggling to prove herself—while fighting the pull of her old life and family dramas—Riley is tasked with investigating a vicious death threat against the newly elected female state governor. Gradually, she traces a disturbing connection between this case and the hunt for the Sin Eater. Through snow, ice, violence and lies, Riley Fisher is drawn towards a terrifying revelation.


Erin Young follows up her acclaimed crime debut, The Fields, which has drawn comparisons with Mare of Easttown, Silence of the Lambs, and True Detective, with another stunning thriller full of dark menace, surprise and suspense.






The Fields

Sergeant Riley Fisher #1

By: Erin Young

Publisher: Flatiron

Publication Date: 01/25/2022

Format: Audiobook

Narrated by: Soneela Nankani

Macmillan Audio

My Rating: 4 Stars


DEBUT


A breakneck procedural that is beautifully written and masterfully crafted, Erin Young's The Fields is a dynamite debut―crime fiction at its very finest.


Some things don't stay buried.





Praise


“This fast-paced feminist thriller marks a series hitting its stride; pair it with Joanna Schaffhausen’s Annalisa Vega procedurals.” ―Booklist


"A meticulously plotted police procedural that absolutely has it all: an icy setting in rural Iowa, a timely political backdrop, and one (or more) of the most chilling villains I've read in recent history. This book is perfect for fans of Tana French."

―Stacy Willingham, New York Times bestselling author of A Flicker in the Dark


“Original Sins has it all: intricate plotting, breakneck pacing, a serial killer with a ripped-from-the-headlines agenda―and, in FBI agent Riley Fisher, a compelling heroine you’ll not soon forget.” ―Wendy Walker, author of What Remains


“This book will chill you to the bone. So atmospheric I feel like I’ve actually been to Des Moines. A complex, tense, dark thriller with a cop to root for and a killer to fear. So good!”

―Araminta Hall, author of One of the Good Guys





About the Author



ERIN YOUNG is the pseudonym of acclaimed historical novelist, Robyn Young, author of eight internationally bestselling novels. She has been published in 19 languages in 22 countries, selling two million books worldwide. She lives and writes in Brighton, England.


Erin Young’s debut thriller, The Fields, was inspired by an article she read about the menacing power of Big Agriculture. A decision to set the novel in Iowa, corn-capital of the world, led her to make a fascinating journey across the state – from chance encounters with cops and farmers, and an audience with a local mayor, to shooting Glocks and getting caught in supercell storms.

Having grown up in a fishing village in Devon, Erin feels drawn to the claustrophobic dramas of rural small-towns and the secrets they hide.

4 views

Comentarios


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page