JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Reading in summer vacation, concept_edited.jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

Thank You For Listening


By: Julia Whelan ISBN: 978-0063243156

Publisher: Avon

Narrator: Julia Whelan

Harper Audio

Publication Date: 08/02/2022

Format: Audiobook 🎧

My Rating: 5 Stars


AUG 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS


From the author of My Oxford Year, Julia Whelan’s uplifting novel tells the story of a former actress turned successful audiobook narrator - who has lost sight of her dreams after a tragic accident - and her journey of self-discovery, love, and acceptance when she agrees to narrate one last romance novel.


For Sewanee Chester, being an audiobook narrator is a long way from her old dreams, but the days of being a star on film sets are long behind her. She’s found success and satisfaction from the inside of a sound booth and it allows her to care for her beloved, ailing grandmother. When she arrives in Las Vegas last-minute for a book convention, Sewanee unexpectedly spends a whirlwind night with a charming stranger.


On her return home, Sewanee discovers one of the world’s most beloved romance novelists wanted her to perform her last book - with Brock McNight, the industry’s hottest, most secretive voice. Sewanee doesn’t buy what romance novels are selling - not after her own dreams were tragically cut short - and she stopped narrating them years ago. But her admiration of the late author, and the opportunity to get her grandmother more help, makes her decision for her.


As Sewanee begins work on the book, resurrecting her old romance pseudonym, she and Brock forge a real connection, hidden behind the comfort of anonymity. Soon, she is dreaming again, but secrets are revealed, and the realities of life come crashing down around her once more.


If she can learn to risk everything for desires she has long buried, she will discover a world of intimacy and acceptance she never believed would be hers.


Buy the Book


Epistolary Fiction

Friendship Fiction

Women's Friendship Fiction





#ThankYouForListening




Praise


"A perfectly intoxicating delight! Thank You for Listening is a witty, clever, and open-hearted love story full of delicious twists on all your favorite romance tropes. Julia Whelan has already proven herself to be a singular, wry voice in fiction but with Thank You for Listening, she has something truly special: a story so remarkable and original that only she could write it. A must-read for anyone who loves a good love story."

— Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Malibu Rising


"Thank You for Listening is a fascinating behind-the-scenes peek at the voice actors who bring love stories to life for the rest of us. Mix Julia Whelan’s storytelling ability and smart banter with a cynical romance audiobook narrator who won’t trust a happily ever after and what do you get? Pure magic."

— Jodi Picoult, New York Timesbestselling author of Wish You Were Here


“A compulsively readable story about self-discovery with plenty of laughs and spice along the way.”

— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


"Thank You For Listening is a delight from start to finish. Julia Whelan takes readers behind the scenes of the audiobook world in this story of second acts and second chances that’s full of wit, heart, and humor. The characters felt so real I began to miss them the moment I turned the final page."

— Andrea Dunlop, author of We Came Here to Forget


"Thank You for Listening is one of the funniest, most clever, sexiest, and most deliciously complex love stories I've read in years. The dialogue is electric. The chemistry, both intellectual and physical, is palpable. The characters are singularly unforgettable. I can't remember the last time I was this jealous of a writer's talent. I wanted to bask in this book, and I also wished I'd written it. Julia Whelan's been my favorite audiobook narrator for years. Now she is one of my all-time favorite authors."

— Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet On Vacation


"Playfully sexy and boundlessly charming, Thank You For Listening is a warm and wise tale of love and affection and a must-read for anyone who loves the sound of voices speaking into a microphone."

— Linda Holmes, New York Times bestselling author of Evvie Drake Starts Over


"Wickedly funny, tearfully poignant, hopelessly romantic, witty and sexy and important, plus a writer at the top of her game, and a peek behind the curtains of both Hollywood and how our beloved audiobooks are created? This book is everything. Narrator and author Julia Whelan is a true talent and THANK YOU FOR LISTENING is utterly unforgettable. A modern classic."

— J.T. Ellison, New York Times Bestselling author of Her Dark Lies










My Review


"Charming. Quirky. Witty." A heartwarming tale about family and second chances with bookish sprinklings. Whelan fans will DEVOUR and be assured to ENJOY the FUN behind-the-scenes of audiobooks!


The much-loved, real-life audiobook narrator is back with her second book, Thank You for Listening. We all love Julia Whelan (actress, narrator, and author) and have listened to her audiobooks for years as a favorite. I was delighted when I discovered she had a new book coming out.


Sewanee Chester is an actress-turned audiobook narrator and enjoys her job. She reads all genres except romance. She likes to avoid it due to all her past experiences.


Following the abrupt end of her screen acting career, Sewanee has found success as an audiobook narrator. She was in an accident that left her injured.


Sewanee loves spending time with her grandma. She's found success and satisfaction from inside a sound booth, allowing her to care for her beloved, ailing funny, and feisty grandmother with dementia who lives in an assisted living facility.


She meets someone and spends the night with a charming stranger at a Las Vegas convention. After returning home, she finds out one of the most beloved romance novelists wants her to perform her last book with Brock McNight, the hottest, most secretive voice.


She needs the money, so she accepts hiding behind her old pseudonym, but so does Brock. She only agrees to do it to help pay for her grandmother’s nursing home as dementia continues to worsen and the care expense increases.


Soon they will discover that they aren't who they claim to be, but then find out who they are. Sparks fly - (love the banter between the two). They have more in common than they may know.


Brock and Sewanee continue to get closer, but both have a lot of work to do on themselves as they try to recover from past emotional and physical disappointments. A heartwarming tale of letting go of the past to move forward.


It was so much FUN getting some behind-the-scenes of making and narrating audiobooks from the two.


From trauma, disability, grief, and loss to love, healing, and second chances. Beautifully written with well-developed characters, a clever, lighthearted romance, and a heartwarming romcom about family, friendships, love, & behind-the-scenes of making audiobooks! For fans of Jennifer Weiner and Katherine Center.


Of course, listening to the ultimate Julia Whelan narrating her book was a pleasure! If you are an audiobook fan, this is a must-read (listen) for the summer.



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars

Pub Date: Aug 2, 2022

Aug 2022 Must-Read Books






About the Author


Julia Whelan is a screenwriter, lifelong actor, and award-winning audiobook narrator. She graduated with a degree in English and creative writing from Middlebury College and Oxford University. While she was in England, her flirtation with tea blossomed into a full-blown love affair, culminating in her eventual certification as a tea master.


WEBSITE

ACTOR

NARRATOR

WRITER






26 views