JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

The Arrangement


By: Miranda Rijks

ISBN: 9781666611083

Publisher: Dreamscape Media

Publication Date: 08/16/2022

Format: Audiobook

Narrated by Jilly Bond

My Rating: 4 Stars 🎧 (ALC)


AUG 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS


Grace is living through every mother’s worst nightmare. Her student daughter Abi went away on a dream vacation—and was murdered. Overwhelmed by grief and fighting off old demons that have resurfaced, Grace tries to make sense of it—who would want to kill her beautiful girl? But as she learns more about Abi’s life, she realizes she didn’t know her own daughter very well. How did Abi acquire all those designer clothes? And what was she doing on those mysterious trips to the city? Grace desperately needs to find answers. But soon it becomes clear that someone doesn’t want her digging into Abi’s secret past—someone who knows how to use Grace’s own weaknesses against her, sending her on a journey to the darkest hell…


Buy the Book





#TheArrangement



My Review


THE ARRANGEMENT is a sugar baby-sugar-daddy tale that turns toxic and deadly in this provocative thriller of sex, obsession, and murder from the queen of psychological thrillers with a twist—author Miranda Rijks.


In this thrills-a-minute riveting suspense, a determined mother (heroine) will stop at NOTHING to attain justice for her daughter.


Emotionally powerful and packed with page-turning suspense, THE ARRANGEMENT delves into the sordid, all-too-real world of shadowy relationships between wealthy, powerful men and the young women caught in their web.


Set in England, we meet Grace Woods, a single mom, hairdresser, and recovering alcoholic. She has two girls, Abi, 21, who has just finished her second year at university, and Ella, the younger 17-year-old, living at home. Grace is divorced from Bob, who has remarried with a son.


The stress and grief caused Grace to fall into drinking. She hated herself while drinking but had to dull the pain. Grace had a traumatic experience when she was younger, raped by a real estate agent after her parents died. She never reported it and continued bearing her anxieties in alcohol which caused her divorce ten years earlier.


Up until now, she had been sober. But now, she was sliding again, drinking during the day on the job, and smoking.


Then they said they had the person who committed the crime, some random drug dealer who killed her for money, and wanted to close the case, but Grace knew there was something else they were missing.


It appears Abi was a sugar baby and had several sugar daddies to help with her student debt and her lifestyle. Grace is tenacious and meets with these men, some nice and some not. Some just wanted companionship and, in return, offered money, clothes, travel, etc. Which one was the daddy of the baby, and which one killed her? Each time she gets closer, there is more danger.


Her daughter has been living a double life. However, there is something much more sinister, and it may be closer than you know. How well do you know those close to you?


A twisty plot that builds slowly and masterfully escalates to a chilling end! A nightmarish deep dive into the underbelly of a secret world and an insider's look into the world of sugar daddies. They can be married, fathers, or living right before you.


Rijks strength is her interesting and complex female characters. You will root for Grace from beginning to end as the mom who would not give up no matter how hard she was kicked down by peers, friends, and family.


A fascinating, dark, twisted, and gritty tale that was such an irresistible, entertaining, and fun book to listen to. I was immediately pulled into the story, intrigued by the premise, and fully absorbed in the suspense. The narrator, Jilly Bond did an outstanding job with all voices with high tension and emotion.


A fast-paced, addictive tale of the thin line between love and obsession and how easy it is to put aside all logical thought for the sake of sex, love, and money. A cross between Pretty Woman and Fatal Attraction. For fans of Michele Campbell and Robyn Harding's The Arrangement.


I enjoy this author's style and highly recommend her thrillers! Thank you to #DreamscapeMedia 🎧and #NetGalley for an ALC to listen to, enjoy, and review.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: Aug 16, 2022

My Rating: 4 Stars

Aug 2022 Must-Read Books


About the Author


I write psychological thrillers - many of which have been Kindle bestsellers. If you'd like to receive free short stories, info on my writing and be the first to know about upcoming releases, you can sign up to my newsletter at https://mirandarijks.substack.com. Before becoming a fiction writer, I helped newbie entrepreneurs turn their ideas into successful businesses. In 2015, I was diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma, a rare bone cancer, and everything changed. I live in Sussex, England with my husband, musician daughter and black Labradors. When I'm not writing, I'm dreaming about living in a chalet on a Swiss mountain, obsessively knitting and painting on my iPad. My books include: The Visitors, The Arrangement, The New Neighbour, The Second Wife, The Only Child, What She Knew, The Influencer, Roses Are Red, You Are Mine, Deserve To Die, I Want You Gone, Fatal Fortune, Fatal Flowers and Fatal Finale. Thank you for reading my books. WEBSITE



Miranda's Books







13 views