top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Day He Never Came Home

ISBN: 9781728298108

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

Publication Date: 07/09/2024

Format: Paperback

My Rating: TBR (ARC)



To protect her family, one mother's lie of omission leads to another in this twisty, suspenseful domestic thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Dave's The Last Thing He Told Me.

She thought she knew her husband. She was wrong.


Regan Peters knows her husband John wants to give her and their children a good life. The long hours he puts in as a financial advisor prove his dedication, and despite how mysterious he is about his past, that's been enough for her to get through the hard days. Until the FBI shows up at their door looking for John, and Regan learns that her husband has been running a Ponzi scheme, is mixed up with dangerous criminals, and has been living under an assumed identity all these years. Everything she thought she knew about her husband has been a lie.


That includes the outrageous birthday present John gifted her the day before he disappeared—a lake house, bought with cash, and put in her name only. With her life falling apart, Regan must make a split-second decision: does she tell the FBI about the house? Or does she buy some time to forge her own path to saving herself? But one compromise inevitably leads to another, and one dangerous secret builds on the next.


When her lies of omission to the FBI agents begin to raise questions, Regan becomes inextricably embroiled in John's crimes, the true extent of which are just beginning to be revealed. Now that her comfortable life is clearly over, Regan is learning she is capable of far more than she ever imagined. She will do anything to protect herself, her children, and their future. Anything.






Praise

“Wonderfully compelling and wildly intelligent…a powerful, cautionary thriller!” —William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author

"A wonderfully compelling and wildly intelligent exploration of moral corruption. The fateful story of John and Regan Peters is a powerful, cautionary thriller, a reminder that the road to hell is, indeed, a slippery slope. And DeYoung does a fine job of mapping the way."

― William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author


"Surprising and smart and wonderfully original, this page-turner of a thriller is completely entertaining."

― Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author of One Wrong Word


"Brimming with suspense and secrets, this top-notch thriller asks vital questions about identity, marriage, and the stories we tell ourselves. Perfect for mystery-loving book clubs!"

― Mindy Mejia, USA Today bestselling author of To Catch a Storm and Everything You Want Me To Be


"DeYoung writes with a smart, calculated urgency that makes the pages fly by. The perfect summer thriller to keep readers on the edge of their seat."

― Nicole Baart, bestselling author of Everything We Didn’t Say


"The real deal. Andrew DeYoung sets up his characters with a tactiful grit that skillfully mirrors real life even as situations careen out of control."

― Tim Lane, author of The Neighbors We Want








About the Author



Andrew DeYoung is the author of The Temps, a speculative novel about the end of the world. He works as an editor at a childrens book publishing company, and he lives with his wife and two children in the Twin Cities area in Minnesota. The Day He Never Came Home is his first domestic thriller.



6 views

Comments


bottom of page