JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

The Drowning Woman


By: Robyn Harding

ISBN: 978-1538726761

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publication Date: 06/13/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


TOP BOOKS OF 2023 LIST

JUNE AUTHOR ELEVATOR INTERIVEW


The bestselling author of The Party returns with a deliciously twisted story of friendship, retribution, and betrayal about a homeless woman fleeing a dangerous past—and the wealthy society wife she saves from drowning, who pulls her into a dark web of secrets and lies.

Lee Gulliver never thought she’d find herself living on the streets—no one ever does—but when her restaurant fails, and she falls deeper into debt, she leaves her old life behind with nothing but her clothes and her Toyota Corolla. In Seattle, she parks in a secluded spot by the beach to lay low and plan her next move—until early one morning, she sees a sobbing woman throw herself into the ocean. Lee hauls the woman back to the surface, but instead of appreciation, she is met with fury. The drowning woman, Hazel, tells her that she wanted to die, that she’s trapped in a toxic, abusive marriage, that she’s a prisoner in her own home. Lee has thwarted her one chance to escape her life.


Out of options, Hazel retreats to her gilded cage, and Lee thinks she’s seen the last of her, until her unexpected return the next morning. Bonded by disparate but difficult circumstances, the women soon strike up a close and unlikely friendship. And then one day, Hazel makes a shocking request: she wants Lee to help her disappear. It’ll be easy, Hazel assures her, but Lee soon learns that nothing is as it seems, and that Hazel may not be the friend Lee thought she was.


Buy the Book





About the Author



Robyn Harding is the bestselling author of The Perfect Family, The Arrangement, Her Pretty Face, and The Party, which was a finalist for the Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel. The Swap debuted at #1 on the Globe and Mail and Toronto Star Canadian bestseller lists. She is also the screenwriter and executive producer of the independent film "The Steps." She lives in Vancouver, BC, with her family and two cute but deadly rescue chihuahuas.

WEBSITE







Exceptional Authors. Standout Books. Elevator Talk.

INTRIGUING QUESTIONS. INQUIRING READERS WANT TO KNOW


#AuthorElevatorSeries

Behind the Book and the Author

Coming June, 2023




Praise


“A fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching novel with sharp teeth and daring observations about the inner lives of women. I flew through the pages, desperate to get hold of what was going on beneath the surface but Robyn Harding was always one step ahead. Positively exhilarating.”

―Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Malibu Rising, Praise for Her Pretty Face


"I was hooked from the opening scene and could not look away until I reached the very last page."

―Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of The Last to Vanish, Praise for The Party


"Robyn Harding weaves a riveting tale that is impossible to put down.”

―Bill Clegg, New York Times bestselling author of The End of the Day, Praise for The Party


"Robyn Harding is an expert at slowly building creeping dread."

―Kate Moretti, New York Times bestselling author of The Spires, Praise for Robyn Harding


"Robyn Harding has long been one of my favorite, must-read authors."

―Hannah Mary McKinnon, Bestselling author of You Will Remember Me, Praise for Robyn Harding


"A master of domestic suspense."

―Kathleen Barber, Author of Follow Me, Praise for Robyn Harding


"Nobody writes about young people and their obsessions as authentically as Robyn."

―Liz Nugent, Author of Our Little Cruelties, Praise for Robyn Harding


"Harding is an adept and skillful writer who writes suspense remarkably well, with seemingly little effort."

―BookReporter, Praise for Robyn Harding


“No list of thrillers is complete without Robyn Harding."

―Real Simple, Praise for Robyn Harding


"Harding’s strength is her interesting and complex female characters."

―CrimeReads, Praise for Robyn Harding


"Harding creates powerful character studies, reflects on societal expectations from a variety of viewpoints, and ramps up unmanageable chaos . . . A great choice for fans of Celeste Ng, Gillian Flynn, and Liane Moriarty.”

―Booklist, Starred Review, Praise for The Perfect Family




#TheDrowningWoman





Exceptional Authors. Standout Books. Elevator Talk.

INTRIGUING QUESTIONS. INQUIRING READERS WANT TO KNOW


Click on the above graphics for #AuthorElevatorSeries Interviews with the fabulous bestselling author, Robyn Harding where we go behind the scenes of the book and the author!


THE PERFECT FAMILY

THE SWAP















15 views