top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Guilty Mother


ISBN: 9781837903436

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 04/28/2023

Format: e-book

My Rating: 5 Stars (ARC)



Taking off my favourite striped apron to sit down for our family meal, I know something is wrong the moment the doorbell rings. A chill runs through me as the police officer places handcuffs around my wrists and I see my husband’s shocked face. They’re arresting me for murder…


We’ve been best friends with Victoria and Russell since they first moved to Dragonfly Close. My children love Auntie Vic. We spend long summer evenings together sipping my homemade lemonade in the garden, laughing and chatting and sharing everything. But now I’m accused of murdering Russell.


Sitting in the back of the police car, I can’t stop thinking about my kids. Who will take them to school in the morning? Who will make sure Holly eats more than a bite of dinner? She needs me more than ever.


Then my mind races back to the last time Russell and I met up in secret. Surely the police won’t know about the argument we had last week, and the terrible things we said.


I tell myself they don’t know about my past.


That they haven’t been listening to the conversations I’ve been having in my house.


I didn’t kill Russell. I’m a devoted mother, a loyal wife and a good friend to Victoria. But I know the police won’t believe me. The question is, will you?


Fans of Liane Moriarty, Nicole Trope and Linda Green will love this completely gripping page-turner, with a twist that will make your heart stop.





My Review


Sam Vickery's THE GUILTY MOTHER is an emotionally felt, dark, twisty domestic thriller of two couples, friends, and neighbors. Two women with huge secrets. A victim. A protective mother. A MURDER. How far will they go to protect their own?


Heartfelt, gripping, intense, and binge-worthy!


From an array of emotions—jealousy, envy, longing, obsession, abuse, betrayal, blackmail, secrets, love, belonging, and revenge.


Lisa and Mike Grey have lived across the street from Victoria and Russell Fox on Dragonfly Close for seventeen years. They are friends and have had many great times in their backyards with BBQs, drinks, dinners, and laughs. Lisa's kids even call Victoria 'Auntie.'


Told from POVs Lisa and Victoria. Then and now, we slowly learn their secrets and how far they will go to protect them.


The doorbell rings, and DS McCormac is arresting Lisa Grey on suspicion of causing the death of Russell Fox for dangerous driving.


Their friend had been killed in a car accident (hit and run) the previous weekend. Lisa was in total shock when she realized, sitting in the back seat of the police car she might never be home again.


Russell had been dressed in black, drunk, walking along the road in the middle of the night. How could Lisa, Victoria's closest friend for twenty years, be behind a jail cell for the murder of her husband?


Lisa was funny, clever, beautiful, and the perfect wife. She is the mother of two wonderful teenagers, Holly and Jack.


Russell was controlling, abusive, and demanding. He wanted a wife who was always around and went nowhere without him. He did not want her working. Victoria is a victim, but will she turn into a monster?


Lisa cannot stop thinking about the last time she and Russell met secretly and the argument. Lisa refuses to cooperate with the police.


Lisa's car was missing that evening. Everyone is shocked. Victoria doesn't believe her friend could be guilty; there must be some terrible mistake, but then she changes.


Later Lisa is charged with MURDER. Does this make Victoria happy getting all cozy with Mike? Lisa must warn Mike. Someone on Dragonfly Close is getting away with murder… the question is, who?


And how far are they willing to go to keep their terrible secret safe?


The dark secrets and layers are unraveled in the lives of both couples. Victoria often envied Lisa, and she wanted what she had. Cracks in a marriage are revealed.


What will a mother do to protect her child? How far will she go? What goes on behind closed doors?


Nothing is as it appears.


As the story moves along, we learn more and more. It becomes obvious one woman wants what she cannot have. Lisa had the perfect family.


She will manipulate everyone around her to get it.

The other will stop at nothing to protect and fight for what is hers.

Even if it means lying and betraying those close to her.


It gets exciting and intense around 59% to the satisfying ending, when things change with jaw-dropping surprises—a captivating tale of lies and deceit that unfolds piece by devastating piece.


My first book by author Sam Vickery and I was impressed. I look forward to reading more. I enjoyed her writing style told with emotion and compassion, blended with suspense. A yummy thriller! Riveting suspense, surprising revelations, and smooth writing.


I love the front cover and the way the book is laid out with the POVs marked with titles of chapters and then and now— for fans of authors BA Paris and Kimberly Belle.


Lisa was my favorite character and was rooting to the end for her! Russell was one evil man and Victoria, even though a victim was not very nice with her manipulation and bribery. I enjoy thrillers with heart.


THE GUILTY MOTHER is both heartbreaking and thrilling at the same time.


Thanks to #Bookouture for a gifted eARC via #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars

Pub Date: April 25, 2023




About the Author


Sam Vickery is an English author who started her writing career with blog articles and books on Natural Parenting, before turning her focus to the world of fiction.


She loves a story that can make her feel deeply, cry hard, appreciate the present moment and change her life for the better – if only for a little while. WEBSITE


43 views

Comments


bottom of page