top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

The Intruder


By: Daniel Hurst

ISBN: 9781837560097

Publisher: Inkubator Books

Publication Date: 09/21/2022

Format: e-book

My Rating: 4.5 Stars (ARC)


SEPT 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS


Getting into their house was easy. The hard part was getting out.


Maria and William seem to have it all. Two happy children. A beautiful house. A thriving business.


But when their home is invaded by David, an ex-employee with a score to settle, the couple face a terrifying fight to survive.


During the course of one hellish night, David picks apart their carefully constructed life. Secrets are unearthed, truths revealed.


And soon David begins to wonder if he’s bitten off more than he can chew – because he’s discovering Maria and William are not the defenceless couple he imagined. By the time he realises who these people really are, it may already be too late…


Who will make it out alive?


One couple. One intruder. Several shocking secrets…


The Intruder – the terrifying psychological thriller from the best-selling author of The Passenger, The Accident, The Couple at Table Six


Buy the Book






#TheIntruder




My Review


Gripping, intense, and utterly binge-worthy!


With shocking secrets and multiple perspectives adding to the suspense, THE INTRUDER is another twisty, clever cat-and-mouse fast-paced thriller from Daniel Hurst—For readers of Kimberly Belle's My Darling Husband and Kaira Rouda's Somebody's Home.


Who is the cat, and who is the mouse?


Told from POVs: William, Maria (husband/wife), and David (their ex-employee). Timelines: From the present day, three years earlier, and 6/7 mos. earlier.


A home intruder out for revenge, unraveling dark secrets and cracks in his former employer's marriage and business. Turning to murders—in this riveting multi-layered thrills by the minute psychological suspense, keeping you on the edge of your seat to the final twisty delicious, and satisfying conclusion.


Meet the Gallagher's - William and Maria. They own a successful advertising company, Gallagher's Ad Agency, and live in a beautiful home with two children, Penny, age 6, and Edward, age 9. They appear to have a perfect marriage, but do they?


They have just won the Best Business Award for 2022.


While they are receiving their award, something more sinister is in the making which will change the course of Gallagher's life.


Meet David Hendricks; an ex-employee fired six months earlier from Gallagher's Ad Agency. He is holding a grudge and will make his employers pay. He wants revenge and is prepared to murder, equipped with a knife.





It involved an allegation against Adelina, another woman who worked in the company, for sexual harassment. But David says it is not valid, and he cannot afford to get an attorney. There was no investigation with HR. Something is not correct. Now he cannot find a job, lost his partner, and has nothing to lose. The Gallagher's will pay. He is out for revenge.


He dresses up in disguise and makes his way to the company where he worked, but after waiting in the office, the owners do not return from the award ceremony. He asks for their address under the disguise of an old friend and makes his way to their home, entering an unlocked door.


However, once inside the house, other events occur, leading them to a different home where William and David are in a house and Maria is left in the car trunk.


Lies, secrets, deceit, betrayal. Evil sins of the past.


This is where things start heating up. You have no clue where the author is taking you but you are dying to see where it leads and on board for the ride. We soon realize David may be the victim, and William may have dark secrets and will stop at nothing, including murder, to keep those secrets buried.


However, Maria is smarter than William suspects. The twist at the end will keep your heart pounding to the conclusion, which left a smile on my face!


I thoroughly enjoyed THE INTRUDER! The author cranks up the tension with every page turn. I read in one sitting— my favorite Daniel Hurst book.


An utterly compelling thriller with jaw-dropping twists. I enjoy how the author takes readers to places you least expect with an element of surprise, showcasing his talent for exceptional domestic suspense.


I also love the dark humor, narcissistic characters, and multi-layering with the plot twists you do not see coming. All relatable characters. You will be rooting for Maria until the end. What is scary is this could actually occur in real life.


I am looking forward to reading more from this author and currently making my way through his backlist. Highly recommend!


A special thank you to #InkubatorBooks and #NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 4.5 Stars rounded to 5 stars

Pub Date: Sept 21, 2022

Sept 2022 Must-Read Books



About the Author



Daniel Hurst was born in the northwest of England, a part of the world famous for its comedians, pasties and terrible weather.


He has been employed in several glamorous roles in his lifetime, including bartending, shelf stacking and procurement administration, all while based in some of the most exotic places on the planet, like Bolton, Preston and South London.


Since following his lifelong passion for writing in 2020, he has amassed a loyal and devoted set of readers, and regularly has several books in the top 100 of the Psychological Thriller Charts on Amazon. His title The Passenger became the #1 selling psychological thriller in the UK in October 2021. WEBSITE



38 views
bottom of page