top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Other Mistress


ISBN: 9781496731128

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: 06/27/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: 3.5 Stars (ARC)


In a deliciously twisty tale of seduction, betrayal, and obsession from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shanora Williams, a scorned wife isn’t the only one looking for answers—at any price . . . Perfect for fans of Tarryn Fisher, Lisa Jewell, and Alyssa Cole!


“Shanora Williams expertly drops hints and clues as she spins and twists this psychological thriller, leaving the reader gasping for breath and racing to get to the explosive end.” —Darby Kane, international bestselling author of Pretty Little Wife


Adira Smith-Cortez knows how to turn around a troubled past. Now she’s a self-made multi-millionaire who takes exquisite care of herself and her only true love: her husband, Gabriel. Adira has it all—except the answer to one tormenting question: why is attentive, affectionate Gabriel cheating on her—with not just one, but two women. There’s sexy Jocelyn, a club owner. And then there’s Julianna, a celebrity makeup artist he’s even crazier about. In a tricky twist, vengeful Jocelyn offers Adira the perfect plan to get her straying spouse back . . .


It sounds simple: Adira will befriend Julianna through a fake identity, play on her and Gabriel’s vulnerabilities and cause them to split up permanently. Determined to reclaim her happiness, Adira won’t—can’t—stop to think what could possibly go wrong . . .


Until too many of Gabriel’s lies start adding up to a disquieting truth. Until Julianna discovers who Adira really is—and Jocelyn pushes Adira to ever-more-unthinkable extremes. With her world collapsing and shattering memories tearing her apart, how far will Adira’s obsession take her—and how much of herself is she willing to lose in the process . . .







My Review


Shanora Williams's latest novel is an edgy drama-filled chilling domestic suspense about the dangerous relationship between a betrayed wife and THE OTHER MISTRESS.


Adira Smith-Cortez's marriage is on shaky ground. Her husband has not been telling her the truth. She knows it is unhealthy to spy on him, but she must, or how will she know unless she sees it with her own eyes?


She has had a troubled past, and now she is a multi-millionaire who takes care of herself and her hubby, Gabriel. Is Gabriel using her?


Why is he cheating on her with not one but two mistresses?


Jocelyn, the sexy wealthy club owner, and Julianna (the one he seems to love more), is a celebrity makeup artist.


Told from alternating POVs, Adira and Jocelyn devise a plan. Jocelyn offers Adira the perfect plan to get her straying spouse back—one chapter from Dina.


The plan is for Adira to befriend Julianna through a fake identity and split them up. Stalking her. An obsession. What could go wrong?


What if it is all a pretense? Where nothing is as it appears. Then Adira and Julianna go missing, and now Gabriel is concerned.


However, what trauma has Adira experienced in the past?


Dark and twisty, with surprises, the author will have you frantically turn the pages to discover the mystery behind these women, particularly Adira. We also get chapters about Adira's traumatic past and triggers as all the storylines come together for a shocking conclusion.


Triggers: child abuse, sexual assault, DID


My first book by the author, and I look forward to reading more! I love the cover.


Thanks to Kensington Books for a gifted ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating; 3.5 Stars

Pub Date: June 27, 2023






Praise


“A fast-paced, psychological trip with a climax that will shock the most voracious readers. Recommended for fans of Alyssa Cole, Liv Constantine, and Megan Goldin.”

—Library Journal


“Fans of The Wife Between Us, by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, won’t be able to put this one down.”

—Booklist


“An intriguing story that leaves you guessing just how far these women will go to get what they want. There's plenty of drama and spice to go around with this one!”

—Shelly Ellis, author of The Three Mrs. Greys



"The Other Mistress is a deliciously wild ride! Shanora Williams expertly drops hints and clues as she spins and twists this psychological thriller, leaving the reader gasping for breath and racing to get to the explosive end."

—Darby Kane, international bestselling author of Pretty Little Wife





About the Author



Shanora Williams is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than twenty-five suspense and romance novels, including her traditional publishing debut, The Perfect Ruin, a selection of the Target Diverse Book Club. She began self-publishing in 2012 and first landed on the New York Times bestseller list when she was only nineteen years old. She lives with her husband and three sons near Charlotte, NC and can be found online at ShanoraWilliams.com.





19 views
bottom of page