JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Reading in summer vacation, concept_edited.jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

The Summer We Buried


By: Jody Gehrman

ISBN: 9781666534351

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date: 03/08/2022

Format: Audiobook

Narrator: Emily Ellet

Dreamscape Media

My Rating: 4 Stars (ARC)


#Mystery #Thriller #psychologicalthriller #suspense


An unthinkable crime—and the tattered threads of a friendship gone wrong—come roaring back to terrible new life in Jody Gehrman’s riveting psychological suspense, perfect for fans of Joshilyn Jackson.


Twenty years ago, Tansy was drawn to Selene’s hard edges, her grit, and her knack for survival. Since then, the confused tangle of guilt about covering up a murder shattered their friendship, and even now, at 38, Tansy has never come to terms with what happened that night.


But now, Selene is back, demanding her old friend repay her. Selene’s daughter, Jupiter, attends the college where Tansy works as a guidance counselor. Selene is convinced that Jupiter’s boyfriend, Colton, is abusive and wants Tansy to intervene. As she is drawn back into the intensity of Selene’s world, Tansy discovers the ugly truth about Colton. But Tansy suspects there’s far more to the story, and now she’ll finally have to confront Selene once and for all.


Buy the Book





#TheSummerWeBuried









My Review


THE SUMMER WE BURIED is my third book (Watch Me and The Girls Weekend) by the talented author Jody Gehrman —a gripping, chilling psychological thriller and one of my favorites of hers.


Tansy Elliot is a guidance counselor at the Valley of the Moon University in Sonoma, CA. Tansy has a secretive life in the evenings, and not even her live-in boyfriend has any idea about her past.


Twenty years earlier, when she was just a teen, a horrific traumatic experience that she keeps hidden involving an older girl which was problematic and alluring. She has never dealt with the trauma.


However, her past comes to life when enigmatic Selene Rathbone shows up in her office - the only person who knows about the horrific crime. Not a person she wants to see.


Selene's daughter is in an abusive relationship and there is a restraining order. Her daughter, Jupiter is a student at the university. The abusive boyfriend, Colton Blake is dangerous.


Tansy does not want to get involved but agrees to have a conversation with her to see if she can find out about any abuse. Serene was older than Tansy and controlling and she appears to be still pulling the strings. She does not follow rules and has led a dangerous life.


Serene's brother, Zach (professor) gets involved with Serene and a romantic relationship develops. They both have to deal with Serene and now Jupiter's complicated life. He warns her against falling into Serene's trap again, but then Serene knows too much and could run Tansy's life.


No matter Serene's background, she is a fierce mother bear and wants to protect her daughter, leading us to the finale which I thought wrapped up nicely.


The author writes of complex characters and highly charged topics. Mental health, domestic, abusive, and toxic relationships, bullying, obsession, friendship, and motherhood. For fans of domestic suspense.


I listened to the audiobook narrated by Emily Ellet and she delivered an engaging performance for all the character voices.


A special thank you to Dreamscape Media and NetGalley for an advanced audiobook copy.


Blog Review Posted @ www.JudithDCollins.com

@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Pub Date: 08 March 2022






Praise


"Gripping . . . Gehrman keeps the suspense high . . . Psychological thriller fans will find much to like." —Publishers Weekly



About the Author


Jody Gehrman is a native of Northern California, where she can be found writing, teaching, reading, or obsessing over her three cats most days. She is also the author of twelve novels and numerous award-winning plays.


Her Young Adult novel Babe in Boyland was optioned by the Disney Channel and won the International Reading Association's Teen Choice Award.

Her plays have been produced in Ashland, New York, San Francisco, Chicago and L.A. She and her partner David Wolf won the New Generation Playwrights Award for their one-act, Jake Savage, Jungle P.I.


She is a professor of English and Communications at Mendocino College. WEBSITE


16 views