top of page
Top of Blog
Exotic refreshing cocktails next to book and straw hat by the pool on vacation._edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Unraveling

Narrators: Courtney Patterson, Aiden Snow Simon & Schuster Audio

ISBN: 9781668046852

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: 07/09/2024

Format: Other

My Rating: 4 Stars (ARC)



This chilling, sizzling, and addictive thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Vi Keeland follows a New York psychiatrist’s dark descent into dangerous obsession.


This isn’t a love story.

It’s a story about obsession.


After experiencing a terrible loss, New York City psychiatrist Meredith McCall feels painfully adrift. When she crosses paths with a man with whom she has a tragic connection, she follows him, sparking an unhealthy obsession with Gabriel Wright. How is he doing so well while her life is in shambles?


But when Gabriel walks into her office as a patient, seemingly unaware of who she is, she knows it crosses all ethical and moral bounds to treat him. Yet, Meredith can’t bring herself to turn him away and becomes further entangled. With her life and career continuing to unravel, it appears that things could not get any worse…until they do.









My Review


Vi Keeland, the #1 NYT Best-Selling author of romance, introduces her sizzling debut thriller novel, THE UNRAVELING —a descent into a psychological unraveling of obsession, intrigue, and mystery.


About...


Set in New York City, Meredith, a psychiatrist, is married to Connor, a pro hockey player. He is involved in a hockey accident with a severe injury and winds up getting hooked on drugs.


Later, there is an accident, and Meredith is grief-stricken and guilt-ridden, wondering what she could have done to prevent this horrific tragedy. Her license has been suspended, and she is in therapy.


When she crosses paths with the man she shares a tragic connection with, she wonders why he seems so happy and carefree.


Consumed with infatuation, she follows Gabriel Wright, an English professor, to see what he is up to. He is an enigma and seems to enjoy himself with other women, maybe his students. He also visits a storage unit. Soon, this turns into an obsession for Meredith. Why isn't he grief-stricken? He seems too happy.


The day she gets her license back, she decides to let it go and get on with her life. Then Gabriel shows up at her practice as one of her patients! Shocked, Meredith crosses all professional and personal lines. They both have reasons to hide their secrets.


Alternating from then and now, all the secrets begin to unfold.


Let the dark and dangerous cat-and-mouse games begin.


Who is the predator, and who is the prey?


My thoughts...


THE UNRAVELING is an intriguing, chilling, twisted, sizzling, wild, and crazy ride! A perfect title, the author cleverly grabs you from page one to the end.


The author skillfully reveals the character's lies, deception, and secrets. Keeland knows how to keep the reader guessing. A clever ride that will make you question everyone and everything.


The first part kept me in suspense, as I tried to figure out what happened after the first accident and why Meredith felt to blame. Then, there was the mysterious connection with Gabriel and his loss. Plus, Meredith has some crazy patients, one in particular. The themes of obsession, addiction, infidelity, trauma, and crossing ethical lines add intrigue and complexity to the narrative.


A wickedly delicious game of cat and mouse and obsession. A fun popcorn thriller. Even though I am not a romance fan, the author sure knows how to make an entrance into the thriller's dark side. My only thought, I wish it had more dark humor. Looking forward to seeing what comes next!


Recs...


For fans of Colleen Hoover, A.R. Torre, and Tarryn Fisher and readers who like a little spice in their thrillers.


Thanks to Atria Books and NetGalley for a digital advanced reading copy for an honest review.



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 4 Stars

Pub Date: July 9, 2024










Praise


“[A] shocking debut thriller… Keeland keeps the twists coming hard and fast, and few readers will be able to predict them.”

― Publishers Weekly


“The Unraveling weaves a delicious web of grief, sex and obsession that will leave you guessing until the very end. A fast-paced and addictive suspense debut from Vi Keeland!”

-- Elle Kennedy, New York Times bestselling author of THE OUTLAWS series


"I loved it! Wow, that ending! A sizzling ride down a dark path, with a twist that you won't see coming."

-- Sarina Bowen, USA Today bestselling author of The Five Year Lie






About the Author



Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles are currently translated in twenty-six languages and have appeared on bestseller lists in the US, Germany, Brazil, Bulgaria, Israel, and Hungary. Three of her short stories have been turned into films by Passionflix, and two of her books are currently optioned for movies. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.


The Unraveling is her debut thriller out July 9, 2024. WEBSITE

16 views

Commentaires


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page