JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Reading in summer vacation, concept_edited.jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

The Woman on the Bench


By: Eliot Stevens

ISBN: 3325855762320

Publisher: Inkubator Books

Publication Date: 08/28/2022

Format: e-book

My Rating: 5 Stars ++ (ARC)


AUG 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS LIST

TOP BOOKS OF 2022 LIST

DEBUT


At last, Mark has found the perfect woman. There’s just one small problem – his wife.


Married couple Mark and Cecilia seem to have it all – looks, wealth, love. But behind closed doors, things are very different – they live in silent resentment, their marriage was broken by the shattering loss of the child they so desperately wanted.


Enter Alice – Mark’s idea of the perfect woman. She appears from nowhere and offers Mark the chance of a new life filled with love, passion, and – finally – the joys of parenthood. Everything he’s ever dreamed of.


But there’s a catch.


Mark can’t leave Cecilia because she knows a dark secret from his past that would ruin him if it was revealed. And he’s sure she'd be more than happy to use it against him if he betrayed her.


Mark’s future with Alice seems doomed. Until one night, in a secluded cottage on the Dorset coast, they hatch an unspeakable plan that might bring devastating ruin or life-long happiness…


But who is Alice, really? And can love ever begin with murder?


The Woman on the Bench is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K. L. Slater, and Daniel Hurst.


Buy the Book




#TheWomanOnTheBench





My Review


A knock-out debut, THE WOMAN ON THE BENCH by the talented Eliot Stevens is literally SPELLBINDING!


A psychological suspense thriller with a killer twist.


Complex, intricate, and devilishly clever.


Set in London, married couple Mark (ad executive) and Cecilia (art curator) seem to have it all —wealth, love, and looks, but behind closed doors, things are no longer the same.


Their lives have been shattered by the loss of the child they longed for. They live in silent resentment. But there is more to the story. Both Cecilia and Mark are hiding secrets from one another.


Then along comes ALICE. She is an enigma. Mysterious, alluring, and beautiful. Mark thinks she is the perfect woman. The woman he meets on the bench. They write notes and tape them to the bottom of the bench. He is obsessed with the next letter and the next meeting. No other communication since they are married.


They want to be together but there is a problem. Cecilia knows about a dark secret from Mark's past that could ruin him. So murder seems to be the best solution.


The remote Lilac House in Dorset by the restless waters of Blackwood Cove and the sea seems to be the perfect place.


Who is Alice? Can she be trusted? What about Cecilia?


Just when you think you have it figured out—bam, the twist comes and nothing is as it appears.


What a triangle! A house of mirrors, taking readers on a thrilling ride of dizzying twists and shocking revelations.


I LOVED this book!

Blown away.

Prepare to be entranced.

Evocative & captivating.

Seamless storytelling.

The writing is superb & razor sharp.

The story is spellbinding.

The plot is mega twisty and surprising.

The prose is lyrical.

The setting and descriptions are vivid.

The suspense is riveting.

The richly drawn characters are mysterious, humorous, wicked & enigmatic.



You have no clue where the author is taking you but are on board for the ride. You will be guessing until the ultra-satisfying conclusion.


What a debut! Stevens has been added to my favorite author list and one to watch. Where has this talent been hiding? Cannot wait to see what comes next.


A mix of psychological thriller, domestic suspense, and literary fiction.


If you love triangle cat and mouse revenge games, this is your book. Who is the cat and who is the mouse? Checks all the boxes for me. For fans of authors Kimberly Belle, Kaira Rouda, Hank Phillippi Ryan, and K. L. Slater.


For readers that enjoy intelligent thrillers and want to be captured with stunning lyrical prose. I love discovering new authors. Inkubator is cranking out winners. This is on NetGalley for request, bloggers. Get this one on your TBR list!


A special thank you to #NetGalley and #InkubatorBooks for an ARC to read, and enjoy in exchange for an honest review.


About the Author

Eliot Stevens grew up between Italy ad the UK, studied philosophy, and works in the humanitarian sector. He's fascinated by the intricate coils of the human mind and tries to unravel them in his stories. He lives in the quiet countryside north of Rome with his beautiful family. When not writing, he mostly wishes he was. The Woman on the Bench is his first published novel


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars + ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Pub Date: Aug 28, 2022

Aug 2022 Must-Read Books

Top Books of 2022






About the Author


Eliot Stevens grew up between Italy ad the UK, studied philosophy and works in the humanitarian sector. He's fascinated by the intricate coils of the human mind and tries to unravel them in his stories. He lives in the quiet countryside north of Rome with his beautiful family. When not writing, he mostly wishes he was. The Woman on the Bench is his first published novel.


WEBSITE



38 views