top of page
Top of Blog
wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Watch Your Back

ISBN: 978-1496738622

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: 12/24/2024

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: TBR



Amid the depths of a bleak Boston winter, a recently married couple find their lives and their relationship unraveling after a series of deadly accidents, in this brilliantly twisting domestic thriller perfect for fans of Stacy Willingham, Greer Hendricks, and Megan Miranda.


Accidents happen, no matter how careful or well-intentioned you are. Psychiatrist Eve Thayer frequently reassures her patients of that fact. There are even times when accidents have good consequences—like when Eve met her now-husband, Nathan, at his collision shop after another car ran her off the road.


After a whirlwind courtship, Nathan and Eve have settled into domestic life. They have a lovely home on a quiet street, a beautiful baby girl, and even the perfect babysitter to care for her. And yet, something isn’t quite right.


The stress in Eva’s life is mounting, both professionally and personally. Though the clinic where she works has been remodeled since its notorious days as an institution for the criminally insane, she feels increasingly uneasy there. And in her own neighborhood, a break-in at a nearby empty house hasn't helped, either.


Detective Rita Myers hasn’t yet figured out whether Eve is a target or a suspect, but every disturbing discovery in this usually peaceful neighborhood seems to revolve around her. Only as a deadly ice storm crashes through does it become clear just how far from perfect Eve and Nathan’s lives really are. And as the cracks in the surface come to light, so do the sinister secrets that lie beneath . . .





About the Author



All the Dark Places author Terri Parlato was born and raised in upstate New York. She currently lives in a small north Georgia town with her husband and their dog, Lucy. She spends her time writing, reading, and visiting craft breweries with her husband.


Inspired by the small towns of New England, All the Dark Places is set in the fictional town of Graybridge, Massachusetts. Terri is a die-hard history nerd and loves exploring Boston and the surrounding areas. She has even located the grave of her six times great-grandfather in a small cemetery in Haverhill, Massachusetts, where generations of her family lived before moving to upstate New York.


Terri holds a BA in English Education from the State University of New York at Albany and an MS in Technical Writing from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. While she has always been a writer, Terri spent most of her professional career as a high school English teacher. She and her husband have three children. Terri is an animal lover, baseball fan and a rock music enthusiast.


Connect with Terri








Exceptional Authors. Standout Books. Elevator Talk.

Behind the Book & the Author



INTRIGUING QUESTIONS. INQUIRING READERS WANT TO KNOW.



with bestselling author Terri Parlato

Coming Dec!






Praise for Terri Parlato

“Parlato’s multidimensional characters and effective use of red herrings will keep readers invested right up to the gasp-worthy conclusion. Series fans and newcomers alike will look forward to Rita’s next case.”

—Publishers Weekly on What Waits in the Woods


“A failed ballerina’s return home is turned upside down by the appearance of a dead body in her family’s yard…Parlato piles on the rumors, menace, and revelations.”

—Kirkus Reviews on What Waits in the Woods


“Rita’s perspective as an older, single woman with family issues of her own complements Esme’s tale as they each confront the secrets of Graybridge. Another highlight is Esme’s background as a dancer: the fading of her dreams grounds the narrative in realism as she struggles to adjust to her new life, for better or worse.”

—Criminal Element on What Waits in the Woods


“A suspenseful thrill ride…Plenty of red herrings and twists-and-turns will keep readers guessing until the very end.”

—Fresh Fiction on What Waits in the Woods


“A riveting plot.”

—CrimeSpree Magazine on What Waits in the Woods


“A creepy debut most notable for the nightmares it finds beneath apparently untroubled surfaces.”

—Kirkus Reviews on All the Dark Places

“An inexplicable murder kicks off Parlato’s gripping debut…Assured pacing matches accomplished characterizations. Parlato is off to a strong start.”

—Publishers Weekly on All the Dark Places

“Part police procedural, part domestic suspense, All the Dark Places provides mystery fans with the reading experience they crave.”

—Brian Kenney, First Clue on All the Dark Places

“This debut novel is well crafted and hooked me in the first chapter…The plot is deeply involved with several twists to the story to keep readers captivated to its dramatic conclusion.”

—Mystery & Suspense Magazine on All the Dark Places

"Terri Parlato's debut All the Dark Places checks all the right boxes for domestic suspense fans. This chilling whodunnit hooked me on the first page and kept me guessing to the last."

—Wendy Corsi Staub, New York Times bestselling author

“All the Dark Places by Terri Parlato is a must read for anyone who loves a good mystery! The suspense was spine-tingling and the characters were interesting but believable. I loved this book and had to force myself to lay it aside at night. Seriously, a must read!”

—Lisa Jackson, # 1 New York Times bestselling author

“A moody, atmospheric thriller perfectly crafted with just enough clues dropped along the way to keep the reader guessing and hopelessly addicted. I know I was.”

—Charlie Donlea, USA Today bestselling author of Twenty Years Later on All the Dark Places

“Hooks you immediately. Sharp characters and a plot full of twists kept the pages turning to the last. Fantastic read!”

—Mary Burton, New York Times bestselling author on All the Dark Places

“From the first pages to the stunning conclusion, All the Dark Places hums with tension. With meticulous plotting and a tenacious detective, Parlato peels back the layers of Molly and Jay’s seemingly ordinary life to reveal that dark secrets rarely stay hidden.”

—Tessa Wegert, author of Dead Wind

“If you are a fan of thrillers that will keep you up at night, whispering "one more chapter" to your alarm clock, Parlato's murder mystery is the book for you. Two women—one with a traumatic past, the other a police detective—come together after a savage killing at a 40th birthday party rocks a tight-knight Massachusetts community. You know what they say about small towns: They often have big secrets.”

—Enews (eonline.com) on All the Dark Places

6 views

Yorumlar


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page