top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Who To Believe


Narrators: Jonathan Todd Ross, Jennifer O'Donnell, Robb Moreira, Nick Walther, Laura Knight Keating, Leah Horowitz

ISBN: 9798891788428

Publisher: RB Media Recorded Books

Kensington Books

Publication Date: 01/23/2024

Format: Audiobook

My Rating: 5 Stars (ARC)



In a twisty, claustrophobic suburban suspense novel for fans of Ruth Ware and Liane Moriarty, the aftermath of a murder in a quiet coastal New England town reveals a web of dark secrets among friends . . .


“An inventive and fiendishly-layered exploration of secrets dark and deep.”

—LOU BERNEY, Edgar-winning author of November Road


“Hill navigates the dark corners and complicated relationships of a small, seaside town with precision and panache.”

—ALEX SEGURA, bestselling author of Secret Identity


Monreith, Massachusetts, was once a small community of whalers and farmers. These days it’s a well-to-do town filled with commuters drawn to its rugged coastline and country roads. A peaceful, predictable place—until popular restaurateur Laurel Thibodeau is found brutally murdered in her own home. Suspicion naturally falls on Laurel’s husband, Simon, who had gambling debts that only her life insurance policy could fix. But there are other rumors too . . .


Among the group of six friends gathered for Alice Stone’s fortieth birthday, theories abound concerning Laurel’s death. Max Barbosa, police chief, has heard plenty of them, as has his longtime friend, Unitarian minister Georgia Fitzhugh. Local psychiatrist Farley Drake is privy to even more, gleaning snippets of gossip and information from his patients while closely guarding his own past.


But maybe everyone in Monreith has something to hide. Because before this late-summer evening has come to a close, one of these six will be dead. And as jealousy, revenge, adultery, and greed converge, the question becomes not who among these friends might be capable of such a thing, but—who isn’t?









My Review


Edwin Hill delivers his best yet, WHO TO BELIEVE —A twisty whodunit suspense mystery thriller set in a small coastal New England town where everyone has something to hide as dark secrets rise to the surface.


WHO DO YOU BELIEVE?


Welcome to the small town of Monreith, Massachusetts. There is a killer on the loose—the brutal murder of Laurel Thibodeau, owner of a popular restaurant. The first suspect is the husband, Simon, due to his gambling debuts and the life insurance policy.


When six friends gather to celebrate Alice Stone's 40th birthday, everyone has an opinion about the murder. From Alice's husband, Damian, the successful documentary filmmaker and cyclist, Georgia, the Minister, and her soon-to-be ex-husband, Ritchie, and their teen daughter, Chloe. Max, the cop, and the handsome, charming psychiatrist, Farley. Everyone is keeping a SECRET.


Secrets will lead to another death. Who can they trust? Who among them is capable of MURDER?


Told cleverly in seven parts, we hear from each POV—we get perspectives from each viewpoint.


Part one:

* Farley Drake… THE SHRINK


Part two:

* Alice Stone… THE PATIENT Financial advisor

* Damian Stone… (Alice's husband), the documentary filmmaker


Part three:

* Max Barbosa… THE COP


Part four:

* Richard Macomber… THE BOYFRIEND. The car mechanic with a secret addiction.


Part five:

* Chloe Macomber… THE DAUGHTER


Part six:

* Georgia Fitzhugh… THE MINISTER


Part seven:

Harper...THE DOG. The observer. The one who knows all. (my favorite)


One of these six will be dead soon!


From secrets, lies, affairs, jealousy, greed, betrayal, and revenge. WHO TO BELIEVE is a deliciously wicked, fun, and twisty domestic suspense that will keep you turning the pages (and listening to the audio) into the wee hours of the morning.


Cleverly crafted, a diabolically plotted mystery with a first-person narrator told in seven parts, giving you clues and an inside look into each personality. For fans of Big Little Lies, and authors, Ruth Ware, Riley Sager, and BA Paris.


I read the e-book and listened to the audiobook narrated by the fully talented cast: Jonathan Todd Ross, Jennifer O'Donnell, Robb Moreira, Nick Walther, Laura Knight Keating, and Leah Horowitz for distinct voices for each character, making the story come alive! I highly recommend the audiobook!


Thanks to Kensington Books, NetGalley, and RB Media Recorded Books for a gifted ARC and ALC for an honest opinion.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars

Pub Date: Jan 23, 2024




Praise


“In this excellent small-town spine-tingler, Hill (The Secrets We Share) shuffles through multiple perspectives to examine the murder of a restaurant owner. As soon as readers think they’ve found a safe landing place for their sympathies, Hill detonates one of the series of game-changing twists he’s planted throughout the narrative. Fans of Riley Sager will want to check this out.”

—Publishers Weekly, starred review


“Confounding twists and seismic reveals stud Edgar nominee Hill’s meticulously crafted, diabolically plotted mystery. Structured to maximize suspense, the tale unfolds in seven parts, each with its own nuanced first-person-present narrator and unique voice. Every new section delivers a kaleidoscopic turn, reframing all that came before and keeping readers perennially off-kilter. A devilishly clever delight.”

—Kirkus Reviews, starred review


“A small-town simmering with secrets and betrayals is the setting for this compelling and twisty story. Deeply layered characters and a master’s touch in deploying point of view to subvert reader expectations make WHO TO BELIEVE a read-in-one-sitting thriller. I loved it!”

— Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of THE LAST MRS. PARRISH


“WHO TO BELIEVE is an inventive and fiendishly-layered suspense novel. The characters are compelling, the setting rich, and the tension electric. A first-rate exploration of secrets dark and deep.”

— Lou Berney, Edgar-winning author of NOVEMBER ROAD


“WHO TO BELIEVE is a powerful, twisty dose of suspense that will keep readers guessing. Edwin Hill navigates the dark corners and complicated relationships of a small, seaside town with precision and panache. The kind of novel that evokes its influences while ratcheting up the thrills.”

— Alex Segura, bestselling author of SECRET IDENTITY


“Kudos to Edwin Hill for a book so sophisticated, suspenseful, and shocking... Mute that cell phone and curl up for several hours of great suspenseful reading.”

— FirstClue Review





About the Author

photo credit Thomas Bollinger



Edwin is the Edgar- and Agatha-award nominated author of three novels in the Hester Thursby series: Little Comfort, The Missing Ones, and Watch Her. His latest novel is the standalone thriller The Secrets We Share.


He was born in Duxbury, Massachusetts, and spent most of his childhood obsessing over The Famous Five, Agatha Christie, and somehow finding a way into C.S. Lewis’s wardrobe. His parents were fond of taking his sister and him on month-long family camping trips across the U.S. and Canada, and one of his best memories is of finishing a copy of The Seven Dials Mystery while the rest of the family visited Mount Rushmore. Growing up when VHS tapes were new meant that watching Alien, Jaws, The Shining, or Halloween whenever he wanted seemed luxurious, and still does today. Like Hester Thursby, he watched these movies – and others like them – a lot.


After attending Wesleyan University and graduating with a B.A. in American Studies, he headed west to San Francisco for the dotcom boom. Later, he returned to Boston, earned an MFA from Emerson College, and switched gears to work in educational publishing. He served as the vice president and editorial director for Bedford/St. Martin's, a division of Macmillan Learning for many years before turning to writing full time.


He lives in Roslindale, Massachusetts with his partner Michael and his favorite reviewer, their lab Edith Ann, who likes his first drafts enough to eat them.


A lot of people helped him create this series, and he is a big believer in paying forward. Don't be a stranger. WEBSITE

10 views
bottom of page