top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

The Escape Room


The Escape Room

By: Megan Golden

ISBN: 9781250219657

Publisher: St. Martins Press

Publication Date: 07/30/19

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars Blog Tour 8/12/19

Q&A with the Author

Top Books of 2019 In Megan Goldin's unforgettable debut, The Escape Room, four young Wall Street rising stars discover the price of ambition when an escape room challenge turns into a lethal game of revenge. Welcome to the escape room. Your goal is simple. Get out alive.

In the lucrative world of finance, Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are at the top of their game.

They’ve mastered the art of the deal and celebrate their success in style—but a life of extreme luxury always comes at a cost. Invited to participate in an escape room as a team-building exercise, the ferociously competitive co-workers crowd into the elevator of a high rise building, eager to prove themselves. But when the lights go off and the doors stay shut, it quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary competition: they’re caught in a dangerous game of survival.

Trapped in the dark, the colleagues must put aside their bitter rivalries and work together to solve cryptic clues to break free. But as the game begins to reveal the team’s darkest secrets, they realize there’s a price to be paid for the terrible deeds they committed in their ruthless climb up the corporate ladder. As tempers fray, and the clues turn deadly, they must solve one final chilling puzzle: which one of them will kill in order to survive?

Buy the Book






#TheEscapeRoom



My Review

Welcome to the Blog Tour!

I am delighted to have with us today, the talented debut novelist, Megan Goldin to tell us more about her electrifying new summer psychological thriller of corporate greed everyone is buzzing about —THE ESCAPE ROOM!

The author delivers a highly creative and deliciously evil corporate high-stakes twisty game of REVENGE!

You will not be able to breathe until the elevator doors are open. What occurs inside the elevator doors, and who is behind this dangerous game? What is the motive? All these answers plus more are revealed in this "unputdownable" cat-and-mouse game of suspense.

What starts with four Wall Street investment bankers being summoned by human resources in a mysterious text to a meeting on a Friday evening. The text stated it was compulsory for them to attend. The meeting happens to be in an office building under construction.

As they enter, they soon find themselves trapped in this steel elevator, and NO way to escape. Everything appears to be a set-up game to mirror an escape room challenge. Soon they learn this is NO ordinary team-building exercise.

In the cut-throat world of finance, Vincent, Sam, Jules, and Sylvie were superstars, but needless to say, recently, they have lost some deals and their jobs are hanging by a thread. They have their secret deals. They were named, the "Circle" which consisted of five members.

However, one member, Lucy had died and now there were four. Since then they seem to be losing money. How did Lucy die and who was responsible?

But little do they suspect, their jobs, their bonuses, and the millions of dollars they hope to attain are not the only focus of danger. Their lives are literally hanging in this elevator and soon they learn this is no laughing game. Who can they trust? Will they all die or will one turn on the other?

In a dangerous game of survival, THE ESCAPE ROOM is razor-sharp; dark, sinister, and highly entertaining! What a roller-coaster wild ride up the corporate ladder. Skillfully crafted, Goldin keeps readers on the edge of your seat to the explosive ending. Who is the mastermind behind this ruthless and complex revenge plot? Who will come out alive? Who will kill and who will survive?

VERDICT: Highly recommend! Five stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Top Books of 2019 list. We can only imagine what is coming next from this newfound talent. We will be anxiously awaiting the next. THE ESCAPE ROOM would make for a great movie or series 🎬. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.

For fans of intelligent high-stakes, adrenaline-fueled action and the movie "Elevator" (2011) where racism collides with corporate greed when nine strangers, one of whom has a bomb become trapped in a Wall Street elevator.

Readers who enjoyed Christina Alger's "The Banker's Wife", and those who have read advanced reading copies of Hank Phillippi Ryan's (8/20) "The Murder List," and upcoming Linwood Barclay's "The Elevator Pitch" (9/17) —(also a great revenge plot). Check out my upcoming Elevator Ride Interview with both Linwood and Hank on their pub dates.

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. I also purchased the audiobook, narrated by January LaVoy, Ramon De Ocampo, which was excellent.

Without further introduction, let's welcome Megan Goldin! (read an excerpt below).

Happy Reading!

@JudithDCollins

#JDCMustReadBooks

READ AN EXCERPT

Q&A Interview

with the Author



Megan Goldin Books


My MG Reviews:

Stay Awake

The Night Swim

The Escape Room

#AuthorElevatorSeries Interview

The Girl In Kellers Way



Blog Tour: Q&A With the Author

Megan Goldin


Check out my #AuthorElevatorSeries Interview with Megan and THE ESCAPE ROOM (2019) Where we go 'behind the scenes of the book' and the talented author with her debut novel. Interview


For more #AuthorElevatorSeries Interviews.





Praise


"Best Books of August"

Apple Books


"Gripping and unforgettable."

—Harlan Coben

"One of my favorite books of the year."

—Lee Child


"Riveting."

—Publishers Weekly


"A sleek, well-crafted ride."

—The New York Times


"Addicting."

―Time Magazine


“Fans of JP Delaney and Ruth Ware will want to be right in

[the escape room] with them.”

—Booklist


"Thriller of the Summer"

—Booktribe


“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you'll be caught in your own escape room—the only key to freedom is turning the last page!”

—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


“THE ESCAPE ROOM works as the ultimate locked-room mystery…Goldin excels at illustrating the pressures of a Wall Street career.”

—Associated Press


"Top-Shelf page-turning crime"

—The Sydney Morning Herald


​"The Girl In Kellers Way was a winner, but The Escape Room takes her mastery of the thriller to a new level - to the very last page."

—The Herald-Sun


"Amazing...a thriller set in an elevator [that explores] the vast territory of people's worst natures. A nightmarish look inside ourselves. Simply riveting."

—Louise Penny


“A sharp, slick, utterly engrossing thriller. This knockout debut hooked me

from the first page and didn’t let go.”

—Cristina Alger, USA Today bestselling author of The Banker’s Wife

“Smart and compelling... I devoured this novel!”

—Karen Cleveland, bestselling author of Need to Know



About the Author

Megan Goldin

MEGAN GOLDIN worked as a correspondent for Reuters and other media outlets where she covered war, peace, international terrorism, and financial meltdowns in the Middle East and Asia.

She is now based in Melbourne, Australia where she raises three sons and is a foster mum to Labrador puppies learning to be guide dogs.

THE ESCAPE ROOM is her debut novel. Read More

68 views
bottom of page