library books key .jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

The New Neighbor


By: Carter Wilson

ISBN: 978-1728247526

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

Publication Date: 04/12/2022

Format: Paperback

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


TOP BOOKS OF 2022 LIST


USA Today bestselling author Carter Wilson returns with another chilling psychological thriller, for readers of Megan Miranda and Alex Michaelides


Aidan holds the winning Powerball numbers.


Is today the best day of his life... or the worst?


Aidan Marlowe is the superstitious type―he's been playing the same lottery numbers for fifteen years, never hitting the jackpot. Until now. On the day of his wife's funeral.


Aidan struggles to cope with these two sudden extremes: instant wealth beyond his imagination, and the loss of the only woman he's ever loved, the mother of his twin children. But the money gives him and his kids options they didn't have before. They can leave everything behind. They can start a new life in a new town. So they do.


But a huge new house and all the money in the world can't replace what they've lost, and it's not long before Aidan realizes he's merely trading old demons for new ones. Because someone is watching him and his family very closely. Someone who knows exactly who they are, where they've come from, and what they're trying to hide. Someone who will stop at nothing to get what they want...

Buy the Book



More books by Carter Wilson:

The Dead Husband

The Dead Girl in 2A

Mister Tender's Girl




GOODREADS BOOK GIVEAWAY ENDS NOV 10, 2021

25 Print Advance Reading Copies | Enter for a Chance to Win!

ENTER HERE

#TheNewNeighbor



Praise


"Carter Wilson's writing is evocative and intense, his characters deeply flawed yet relatable."

―Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight for The Dead Husband


"A smashing story about families and secrets and all the things you don't want to know about the people closest to you. Read it!"

―David Bell, USA Today bestselling author for The Dead Husband


"The New Neighbor is a dizzying descent into a Byzantine maze of psychological suspense. Carter Wilson proves once again why he is one of the best most inventive thriller writers working today." ― S. A. Cosby, New York Times bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland


"Some truly frightening scenes lead to a gripping and satisfying conclusion, but not before a twist that will leave readers' heads spinning. Marlowe is memorable ―single dads in thrillers aren't that common―but mainly he will stay with readers because of his offbeat vulnerability and the determination that shines through his grief. Wilson's (The Dead Girl in 2A) unusual psychological thriller is one for fans of Stephen King who are open to reading mysteries."

― First Clue


"I can never resist a book with a well-written, unreliable narrator, and Carter Wilson nails just that in his tautly written thriller, The New Neighbor. I couldn't bear to put this page-turner down until I figured out every single detail in Wilson's suspenseful and twist-ridden story of loss, mourning, and new starts that asks if money can ever buy happiness and even if it does―at what cost?"

― Emily Bleeker, Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestselling author





Carter Wilson's Making It Up Podcast

You can also listen on Audible


In this conversation series, USA Today bestselling novelist Carter Wilson talks to writers of all backgrounds in order to find out why they do what they do. He and his guests discuss childhood influences, roots of creativity, luck and loss, tools of the craft, and the highs and lows of publishing. At the end of their conversation, they pick a random sentence from a random book and use it to create an impromptu short story. Visit Carter at www.carterwilson.com.




Check out his Latest Episodes!





About the Author

Photo Credit: Eldeen Annette Headshots


Carter Wilson is the USA Today and #1 Denver Post bestselling author of seven critically acclaimed, standalone psychological thrillers, as well as numerous short stories. He is an ITW Thriller Award finalist, a four-time winner of the Colorado Book Award, and his novels have received multiple starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. Carter lives in Erie, Colorado in a Victorian house that is spooky but isn’t haunted…yet.


Born in New Mexico in 1970, Carter grew up primarily in Los Angeles before attending Cornell University in New York. He lived in Pittsburgh, San Francisco, and Miami before moving to Boulder, Colorado in 1996. Throughout his life, Carter has journeyed the globe for both work and pleasure, and his travels have been a constant source of inspiration in his fiction.


Carter’s writing career began on a spring day in 2003, when an exercise to ward off boredom during a continuing-education class evolved into a 400-page manuscript. Since that day, Carter has been constantly writing. In addition to his published novels, Carter has also contributed short fiction to various publications, and most notably was featured in the R.L. Stine young-adult anthology Scream and Scream Again. WEBSITE



6 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS