top of page
Top of Blog
wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Wolves Come At Night


Series: LT. Taylor Jackson

ISBN: 978-1948967549

Publisher: Two Tales Press

Publication Date: 05/23/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars

A detective on the brink.

An assassin out for revenge.

A desperate mother racing against the clock.


While the high-profile murder of a young country singer turns Nashville inside out, danger lurks in the woods beyond the city’s border. There was a witness to the terrible crime, a college student who stumbled onto the scene. When the girl goes missing, the police don’t know if she’s run for cover or been taken…or if something more sinister is happening.


The truth will shatter Taylor’s career and bring her face to face with a deadly assassin who wants nothing more than to finish what they started.


Taylor Jackson is back. And you’ve never seen her quite like this.


Buy the Book





LT. TAYLOR JACKSON SERIES

Discover the incomparable, fearless homicide Lieutenant Taylor Jackson in this gripping psychological thriller series set in Nashville, Tennessee. Perfect for fans of John Sanford, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Gardner, these books have been described as "everything great crime fiction novel[s] should be." —Allison Brennan, NYT bestseller




The Taylor Jackson Series


#1 - ALL THE PRETTY GIRLS

#2 - 14

#3 - JUDAS KISS

#4 - THE COLD ROOM

#5 - THE IMMORTALS

#6 - SO CLOSE THE HAND OF DEATH

#7 - WHERE ALL THE DEAD LIE

#7.5 - WHITEOUT

#8 - FIELD OF GRAVES

#9 - THE WOLVES COME AT NIGHT







My Review


Thriller Chick and master storyteller (avid fan) J. T. Ellison returns following It's One Of Us (5 stars) with her popular Lt. Taylor Jackson Series; THE WOLVES COME AT NIGHT —A gripping twisty suspense crime thriller with a detective on the brink, an assassin out for revenge, and a desperate, mother racing against the clock.


The novel starts with a bang, (literally) immediately drawing you in. Radnor Lake, Nashville, Tennessee.


Carson and Isabel (Izz), freshman roommates from Vanderbilt and the Lat and Long Club are hiking and Carson hears a noise and goes to check it out. A man and a woman are arguing, and then a gunshot.


Fearful of their lives, they run. They hope they can make it down the mountain before he sees them. Had he seen her?


They returned to the dorm and told Simeon (developer of the GPS app) they were using. The campus police called, which contacted Nashville Metro. Carson and Simeon take the cops to the spot. Yes, the woman is dead.


Metropolitan Justice Center, Nashville

Taylor Jackson has a new office. She is Captain with better hours, better pay, and better benefits. She is back from her medical leave in Scotland and cleared by the department shrink for active duty.


Not sure she will stay at Metro with all the politics, paperwork, and her annoying boss.


Taylor is heading up the high-profile murder case. Georgia Wray is a country music star. Nashville born and bred, a gorgeous blonde, wrote her songs, a star in the making —the next Taylor Swift.


Since Carson was the witness with Izz, they are keeping an eye on her dorm room in the event the shooter identifies her and decides to look her up.


Justin Osborne was her ex-boyfriend. They just had a breakup. They came to Nashville together. He played the guitar and sang. A scout wanted only Georgia.


Georgia's parents are currently traveling in New Zealand at some secluded resort. They do not think it was the boyfriend, but the recording label guy, possibly.


Then everything changes. The boyfriend is dead. A suicide?


Then the case moves to something more critical. That of Carson. She is missing. Do the two cases connect, or is there something different?


Could the app place the two women in the same place simultaneously? Who was the angel investor? Did someone hack the app? Carson found a virus on her phone. Both the women looked alike. Could Carson have been the intended target versus Georgia?


Her mother, Avery, a doctor in New Haven, CT, with twin sons, rushes to Nashville. However, her deceased husband owned a bakery with two guys. These two guys now run the bakery, and something more sinister may be happening. Had her marriage been a complete lie?


Someone has her daughter. Could it be related to her husband's business or the Nashville shooting?


Ellison takes readers on an intense non-stop adventure, a globetrotting around Europe and beyond. Taylor connects with spies and assassins to find Carson before it is too late. Will Taylor leave her homicide detective behind to find the killer of the murder victim? She is not a paper pusher behind a desk. She wants to be out in the field without micro-management.


High adrenaline and action-packed. JT is on FIRE with her tenacious Taylor Jackson. An internal battle between wolves (people)—good and evil. Which one will win out?


A great ending that fans will LOVE!


I loved catching up with Baldwin (her soon-to-be husband, FBI hunky profiler) and cameo appearances from Sam and Xander. (spin-off series)


THE WOLVES COME AT NIGHT may be read as a standalone; however, now I am dying to go back and read the ones I missed in the Taylor Jackson series. LOVE her. I enjoyed the tug and pull of both good and evil and her career choice selections. As you will find in the end, I think she made a wise decision. (career and personal)


I also enjoyed all the fabulous quotes. JT Ellison is a powerhouse, and every novel is a wild ride! If you like strong women and well-written, fast-paced crime thrillers, this one is for you!


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: May 23, 2023

My Rating: 5 Stars



Praise

"Powered by unexpected twists, intriguing characters, a high-stakes plot, and the ultimate enemies-to-friends story, THE WOLVES COME AT NIGHT is a true thrill ride. I loved it." —Jayne Ann Krentz, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author




About the Author


Photo Credit: Kidtee Hello Photography


J.T. Ellison is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than 25 novels, and the EMMY(R) award winning co-host of the literary TV show A WORD ON WORDS. She also writes urban fantasy under the pen name Joss Walker. With millions of books in print, her work has won critical acclaim and prestigious awards. Her titles have been optioned for television and published in twenty-eight countries.


J.T. lives with her husband and twin kittens in Nashville, where she is hard at work on her next novel. WEBSITE

33 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page